Tattoos are Satanic (According to Research)

naomi_caplanđŸŒ»
Writing in the Media
4 min readFeb 18, 2020
© pinterest.co.uk

Tattoos are often an icebreaker, a conservation starter and definitely ground for disagreement. In the past, tattoos were ‘only for sailors’ or criminals but today many see tattoos as a means to express creativity and an appreciation for illustration.

Leaving my opinion (and my tattoo-covered skin) aside, here’s what researchers found:

Psychologist Luzelle Naudé from a South-African University decided to uncover what people really thought about us tattooed folk. Questionnaires followed by interviews were given to university students asking if they had any tattoos, whether their friends had any (if so, reasons for and against getting one) and their general opinions about tattoos.

The results found that 25% of people who had at least one tattoo based their motivation on a sentimental reason, most commonly to honour the memory of a loved one. 12% of participants felt as though their tattoos were an ‘extra’ part of their character, with one participant revealing “my body is my book, tattoos are my story”.

Now for (what I consider to be) the most interesting part; why people DIDN’T get tattoos:

11% of participants gave religion as their primary reason for avoiding the ink. Social and cultural factors also played a big role. One participant said that their “body is a temple of the Holy Spirit” and wished to keep it ‘clean’.

Unsurprisingly, family and parental disapproval was another overarching factor, with worries about workplace judgement as a close second. The next biggest reason (10%) was the fear of needles and pain.

“ I wouldn’t get one. Would you put a bumper sticker on a Ferrari? ”

I found the responses to the next question somewhat surprising. When asked “how do you feel about tattoos and people with tattoos” the answers were shockingly un-judgemental for the most part. 54% of people responded with positive opinions, 18% with mixed opinions, a tiny 13% with negative opinions and the remaining 15% felt indifferent.

However
 amongst that ‘tiny’ 13% of haters, the responses were fairly amusing.

‘Ugly, trashy, messy, cheap, filthy’ were amongst the insults thrown around to describe tattoos with many also agreeing that they are ‘satanic, evil, dangerous, stupid, reckless, unprofessional’ and associated with criminals and ‘social deviants’. To be fair, my sunflower, rabbit and intricate floral tattoos DO scream notorious criminal who worships the Devil on a Friday night


During the last few years I have encountered a range of (unwanted) opinions about my tattoos. Some very complimentary, some ridiculous and some completely unnecessary. I remember one middle-aged customer telling me that ‘in her day only sailors had tattoos’, ending with a remark that mine look like ‘hideous bruises’.

Others frequently ask me about the meaning behind my tattoos to which their faces drop when I reply ‘absolutely nothing’, or the inevitable ‘did it hurt?’. Well unless you enjoy the feeling of hot pokers being dragged through your skin for hours on end, then yes. Yes it does bloody hurt. Next?

A traditional tattoo ‘flash sheet’: ©pinterest.co.uk

Whilst I do thoroughly regret ever getting tattooed or covering so much of my skin, that is very much another topic and one which I’ll swiftly skim over today (mum, you were right), I will always and wholeheartedly defend the utterly bonkers myths about tattoos. Tattoos are very much a form of art (if done well and not in a shack on the strip in Maguluf by resident artist ‘Dave’) and can help people heal and grieve. Equally, they can be totally meaningless but bring joy to whoever they live on.

My partner is also tattooed, with his far more visible than mine. In the summer, with his hand and neck tattoos and my chest, arms and legs looking like a Sharpie’d doodle-pad, we aren’t unfamiliar with the filthy stares and disapproving tuts we get as we try to enjoy a sunny day like everyone else. At first, you feel extremely defensive, knowing if only they spoke to us and engaged with us like ordinary people, they would learn that we are both incredibly hardworking, kind and respectful adults (and not reckless youths out on probation).

This research unearthing the general views on tattooed individuals reassured me. It reassured me that, for the most part, people are happy to accept others’ personal choices as long as they don’t harm anyone. Times are definitely changing and tattoos are becoming extremely mainstream, from the ‘alternative’ scene with head-to-toe body murals to those with a simple and graceful commemorative tattoo to yes, the older generations who have faded green ink from when only sailors did have tattoos.

Either way, the new ‘acceptance mentality’ in 2020 is fantastic and I can’t wait to see passers-by flaunting their weird and wonderful tattoo masterpieces this summer season.

--

--

naomi_caplanđŸŒ»
Writing in the Media

I tend to write about my mind, which, in 25 long years I am yet to understand.