The Fight for Theatre

Amelia Carpenter
Writing in the Media
3 min readMay 11, 2020

Last week I discovered that Nuffield Southampton Theatres, was going into liquidation. This theatre has been a huge part of my life and I’m not ready to let it go just yet.

Image by: Richard Budd

The Nuffield has shaped me into the person I am today. Without it I would lack so many skills, friends and opportunities. Theatre has been so important to me, both as a child and as an adult due to the Nuffield. It became my second home for 10 years and it needs saving.

I remember my first day at the Drama Club as a mere 9-year-old girl. I clung to my dad, hiding behind him in fear of the other hyperactive children running around and playing games. The youth club leader at the time, took no nonsense and told it to me straight “if you’re going to hide behind your father then you shouldn’t bother coming”. It was that comment that kick started some of the most amazing years of my life. From that moment onwards, my confidence continued to grow and grow. Granted it took me a while to come out of my shell, but, little by little, being a part of Nuffield pushed me to be better. Today I have no trouble performing in front of large crowds, giving presentations to my classes and just generally sharing my opinion amongst large groups of people.

The Nuffield was never just about putting on a show; it was about building character and belonging to a family.

When I say that it felt like a second home, I’m not exaggerating. The hours spent rehearsing with fellow cast mates was more than I spent in my own house. Every week I couldn’t wait until it was time to go to rehearsals and as soon as it was over, I would count down the days until the next one. It was all I ever looked forward to. Sundays were my favourites. A whole 7 hours of playing games, devising scenes and treating ourselves to the £5 Pizzazz pizzas just down the road.

Image courtesy of Nuffield Southampton Theatres

After weeks of character building, line learning and bonding as a cast, we were ready for show week. Before every performance we would do the typical warm-ups and tongue twisters but my favourite part would be the final pre-show song. ‘The banana song’ would have us all jumping up and down, feeling completely free shouting “BANANAS OF THE WORLD… UNITE!” And, in that moment, we all really were united by our passion for theatre. It brought us all together and that song will forever remind me of my Nuffield family. I felt so proud after every show, because we really did create such wonderful pieces of theatre together. Of course, there were stressful moments. For example, when one of the leads couldn’t make it last minute or when I sliced my hand open on stage mid-performance. But that just prepares us for later on in life when things don’t always go to plan.

The show must go on!

My heart would always break a little when a show ended because it meant you’d never have everyone altogether again. Now my heart is breaking even more knowing that the Nuffield is closing down forever. This theatre has kept the arts alive and present in Southampton for many years and it will be devastating to see it go. It has exposed me to the reality of hard work, but also how that effort can pay off. It gave me a sense of belonging and memories that I will cherish forever. On top of this, I’ve developed skills that have shaped me into the person I am today and I will be forever thankful for that.

Nuffield Southampton Theatres has formed such an integral part of my life and I’m gutted that other people won’t have those same opportunities that I was lucky enough to experience. It doesn’t deserve to end this way, and the city won’t be the same without it.

I am so proud to have been a part of the Nuffield.

--

--