The Not-so-Dreamy Manic Pixie Dream Girl

Alice King
Writing in the Media
3 min readJan 23, 2022
Mary Elizabeth Winstead and Michael Cera in ‘Scott Pilgrim vs the World’ (2010)

How the damaging representation of BPD/Bipolar symptoms in the media romanticises the serious condition.

Growing up, 2010 hit Scott Pilgrim vs the World was always one I could rely on for an easy watch, countless times over. If it wasn’t for Edgar Wright’s captivating editing, it was exploring my fascination with the character of Ramona Flowers (Mary Elizabeth Winstead). From the iconic look with above shoulder length dyed hair (which I have donned many times) to her quirky and obscure manner, this was my introduction to the “Manic pixie dream girl” (MPDG). It was upon growing up and being diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD), did I have issues with films such as Scott Pilgrim vs the World, 500 Days of Summer (2009), and even the anime Your Lie in April (2014). I finally figured it out to be that I was finally seeing myself in media, however not in a healthy or positive representation. Whilst none of these characters are formally diagnosed with BPD, they embody the traits associated with it through their MPDG lifestyle.

Through the lens of the media, we see people who intensely feel their emotions, are erratic in their decisions/actions yet to be found exciting by their male counterparts. These one-dimensional characters are often romanticised following a plot of a male saviour complex deeming them to need the support and love from them to be whole. A large part of BPD is the “favourite person” (FP) that one may have, this may be romantic or platonic but regardless there is an obsessive nature from it. Many times with MPDG representation this comes across as putting the male counterparts needs first over their own. This creates the most damaging representation: the saviour complex that is completed by being in a relationship. The whole plot of Scott Pilgrim vs the World and 500 Days of Summer is the male leads attempting to get into relationships with the quirky girl as partly that is what expected. Thankfully, 500 Days of Summer addresses this trope with Summer (Zooey Deschanel) rejecting the male lead leaving him confused as he thought a relationship was expected/what comes next.

So what though? How damaging can this representation truly be? I am in constant conflict in being able to describe myself and my mental health properly. When discussing with friends and family after my diagnosis, it becomes exceedingly hard to say “well I’m like x from y film” when there is no real representation I am accepting of. Not all of us with BPD want to be represented as sexually deviant and the epitome of someone’s fantasy. The harrowing truth behind this is the “sexual deviant” one may desire may be part of the 40- 70% of those with BPD who may have experienced childhood trauma in sexual regard. These representations continue the cycle of damaging self-worth which those with BPD struggle and aim to grow through. Even, when I was a teenager, dealing with the conflict of what was expected of me and that being the way I was, was the right way and that I didn’t need to change.

So how can we tackle this stigma? Well ultimately films and media showing the full emotional spectrum and the day to day reality of BPD is going to be depressing and honestly not a fun watch. However, the need to over sexualise or romanticise these women is not essential in portraying those with this illness. Because quite honestly, I don’t feel sexy all the time, especially when taking medication.

--

--