Things I Wish I’d Known Before

Fallon Geeves
Writing in the Media
3 min readFeb 3, 2017

I decided to get Canaries

Photo Credit: Fallon Geeves

Now lets face it, at some point in our lives so far we’ve all wanted a pet to call our own. When I was a child all I wanted was to have my own dog and I certainly made it known to my parents. It was all I had ever wanted (and still is) but whilst still living with my parents, that is never ever going to happen. It was always my dad who said ‘NO!’ and I would respond ‘I just want a little one’ with those puppy dog eyes, oh the irony!

Years of asking and years of still being told ‘NO!’, I decided to think of something that my parents would let me have. I had never been able to get over the fact I had never had a pet and I wanted one no matter what. Then nearly two years ago I thought I had this fantastic idea of getting a bird. Now I love birds, they are so pretty but one thing I can tell you is that not all birds are very fun to have as pets. When I addressed the idea to my parents to my surprise they actually agreed to it and I was so excited, I couldn’t believe it.

So what did I ask for?

The beautiful, brightly coloured bird(s) known as Canaries. Now one thing that I must say which is rather important is that canaries are possibly the cutest yet most boring species of bird I have encountered. I so wish I had known this before I had them. Don’t get me wrong I love them and they are so adorably cute, but they literally do nothing…

Except from…EAT!!!

I have honestly never known a bird to consume so much food. Yet they are smarter than you think. I have realized that only at certain times do they tweet a lot and you would assume it would just be them either singing or possibly talking to each other. NO, they’re not singing or talking, they want my attention because the greedy little things have eaten all of their food and are basically asking me for more. Now if that isn’t brilliant then I don’t know what is!

I can understand it must get very boring living in a cage all day everyday but I have two so they don’t get lonely.

I would love to let them fly around the room and give them some freedom but if you do a little research like I did after I got them, then you’ll find out something that wasn’t very amusing. Now I know what you’re thinking, “what could possibly be so bad about these birds?”

You will find out in only a few seconds.

You cannot handle canaries, at all, for one very important fact! That one little fact is, if you handle them then there is a high chance that they can become over stressed and…

DIE!!!

Yes you read correctly. DIE! Almost a little depressing to think that these little creatures that I care for everyday could literally die in my hand if I was to even pick them up.

Now I’m not saying they aren’t lovely to have as pets but I am saying that if you want a pet that you can get some amusement from then a canary should definitely be at the bottom or very near the bottom of your list, unless you’re considering a tortoise then maybe a canary isn’t such a bad idea.

With thanks to Amelia Graffham

--

--