This is me

Viviane Ding
Writing in the Media
4 min readJan 31, 2017

We all know this situation at awkward dates or boring parties, when people ask you to tell them something about yourself. Normally we begin to talk about rather superficial things, like our job, where we live, or what kind of hobbies we have. Of course, these kinds of things tell others something about ourselves. But do these facts reveal who we really are? When I sat down to write this article I started to realise how difficult it actually is to answer this question within a few sentences. Certainly not because I think that I am a more interesting or special person than everyone else, but because I reckon that writing about yourself is way more difficult than to write about someone else. Anyway, I will give it a go.

Let’s start from the beginning: I was born and raised in southern Germany. After I graduated from school I did not really know what I wanted to do. The only thing I knew was that I wanted to go to University and study “something about culture or languages”, and that one day I wanted to live abroad. But at first I moved to Heidelberg, a beautiful little city in southwestern Germany not far away from my hometown. What I love about Heidelberg is its unique atmosphere: it is a place full of history, students and tourists from all over the world. So, there I was in this beautiful city, but I still had this one problem: I did not really know what I wanted to study. I tried out almost everything, ranging from archaeology in my very first year to economics and philosophy a couple of terms later. Then finally, I realized how much I have always loved languages and literature. I decided to study German and English. Not to become a teacher, but to become…well…. something else. And what a surprise: I actually managed to stick to my choice this time.

After my second term of English I knew that it was the right time to live my dream and go abroad. I decided to become an Erasmus Student and to go to England, not only to improve my English but also to get to know the British culture. I still remember how happy I was when I heard that I got accepted at the University of Kent. So, here I am! I think that living abroad is an experience that helps you to find out more about yourself and to develop important skills. And all I can say is that many of the experiences I had in England so far, were the best ones in my life. I met so many great people from all over the world and had so many interesting conversations here. I love to live in Parkwood, a small student village near the main campus, because there are so many international students and someone is always having a party there. And I absolutely love the Parkwood parties! You would never guess how many people fit in one of those small kitchens. But the best thing about my Erasmus year is: it is not over yet! However, I already know that my year abroad will always be an important episode of my life and I enjoy every minute of it.

In my free time, I love to write short stories. To be honest, most of the times I don’t really finish them, but there are always new ideas that come to my mind and that want to be written down. My favourite author is Franz Kafka. We read one of his novels in school and although most of my classmates hated it, I have been adoring his style of writing and his creepy stories since then. Another one of my hobbies is hanging out with friends and complaining about life and our classes and assignments at Uni. But that’s of course not the only thing we do together: like almost also students, we also love to drink and go out together. Me and my friends in Germany have lots of funny stories about all the creepy people we met during our nights out in Heidelberg. I also love to travel. I have already been to many countries in Europe and to the US. Two years ago for example, I spent a beautiful summer in Rome, enjoying the Italian way of life, the delicious coffee, and the great architecture. I believe that every place you visit changes you a little bit. And there are still so many places I want to see and I can’t wait to explore them one day.

So, that’s my first article about myself. Maybe it did not really answer the question who I really am. But come on, how can you answer a question like this? However, I hope this might have given you a little, hopefully not too bad, impression of me.

--

--