This is me

Ellis Wiggins
Writing in the Media
4 min readFeb 6, 2017
Image Credit: Pixabay

“Define yourself in three words.” “Tell us something interesting about you.” “What makes you- you?”

If you’re reading this, then I have no doubt that, like me, you would have encountered at least one of these statements in your lifetime. Whether it was during your first day at school, a job interview or a social media profile.

Now I can’t speak for you, but personally, being faced with the task of defining oneself proves a near impossible task. I say ‘near’ impossible because I’ve grown accustomed to providing a definition that will gain the satisfaction of my receiver. For example, when writing a job application, I know that my possible employer will want me to be motivated, hard-working and organised, and so, I will write that I am ‘motivated’, ‘hard-working’ and ‘organised’ to increase my chance of success. This does not mean to say that I’m lying, in fact, I like to think that I possess all three characteristics, however, they do not relay who I REALLY am.

When answering the question, ‘who is the REAL me?’, I find myself wanting to drop the ‘near’ from ‘near impossible’, thus allowing the question mark to forever exist in a self-made abyss. But, for the sake of this article and for your approval, I will refrain from doing so and will instead attempt to substitute the question mark for a definitive full stop.

Here it goes.

This is me.

I am an onion.

No, I am not a vegetable. No, I am not essential for a flavoursome meal. And no, I am not going to make you cry (hopefully). But yes, I do consist of multi-layers. As to how these layers are formed, well, I believe that the people we surround ourselves with play crucial roles in our self-developments and, ultimately, define who we are. I, therefore, owe my current layers to my family.

Throughout my 22 years, my mum, dad and two brothers have built an indestructible support network around me and have taught me innumerable lessons, both of which will continue indefinitely.

Layer 1:

My mum would do anything for anyone, be it something minor or major, for a stranger or for a best friend. She would drop any self-commitments in a heartbeat if she thought I was in need, and it is this caring and selfless nature that she has passed on to me. Although, I must admit, I don’t quite reach her level of caring and selflessness, she goes above and beyond perceived ideas of these terms.

Layer 2:

My dad gets a lot of stick from my family, me included, for being ‘The Question Master’. Admittedly, it is annoying when, no matter the topic of conversation, he has a question for everything, however, this is also something I admire about him. He has a thirst for knowledge, a thirst that I have inherited and one that has enabled me to achieve my academic goal of attending university, and enabled me to make new ones regarding my future career, whatever that may be.

Layer 3:

I owe my courageous ‘layer’ to my oldest brother, Simon — the army veteran of the family. In 2008 he was injured in Afghanistan, was on the brink of death but survived, and now 9 years on he is stronger and happier than ever. He is the bravest man I know and the only man I will ever call a hero. It is because of him that I have never let my fears become a hindrance on my life. For example, at the age of 19, I overcame my fear of the unknown by travelling to the other side of the world for 4 months. I had the experience of a lifetime but now, much to my parents apprehension, I now possess the life-hindering, travel bug!

Layer 4:

Last, but most definitely not least, I have acquired my optimism from my brother, Tom. I hold so much respect for him because he never takes a day for granted. He’s aware that we only get once chance at this life, but he does not waste his energy on this negativity, instead he lives life to the full, one positive step at a time. His positivity is infectious and will never cease to put a smile on my face.

Yes, it’s true — We can’t choose our family, we are tied together by the blood that runs through our veins. But if, in a strange, hypothetical world, I could in fact choose, I could not think of 4 better people to take on the roles than the people who already fill them in my reality. My family have made me who I am today — a multi-layered onion, who has no limit to the amount of layers she may acquire in years to come.

With thanks to Amelia Graffham

--

--