What I Wish I’d Known before Starting a Blog

Dan Blank
Writing in the Media
3 min readJan 30, 2018
Blogging is a fun and challenging way to improve upon your writing skills (Picture credited to http://blog.cambridgeinternational.org/our-top-5-blog-posts/)

In April of last year I began my blog — three-four-three football. My blog has presented me with a platform to improve upon my writing through talking about the game I love. 19 pieces later and I am still learning. There are, however, a few things I wish I’d known before starting my blog. I hope the following points will be helpful to anyone looking to start a blog.

Your first piece won’t be perfect

After finishing your first blog piece, you are likely to be pleased with what you produce. If you are not, do not feel disheartened. I can say that it took me 7/8 pieces before I found a style that best suited me. Even now, 19 pieces down, I still feel my pieces have room for improvement. Like anything, the more you blog the better your pieces become.

Plan, plan, plan

The most important phase of the writing process begins before the writing itself. A plan gives your writing a structure. It’s safe to say you wouldn’t start an essay, book a holiday or have a wedding without planning. Blogging is no different! The marriage between thoughts and blog can only occur after planning.

Less is more

Even if you feel you have an awful lot to say, try and condense it. The majority of your audience will be reading your pieces on a tablet or a mobile device. My first piece was some 3,500 words, which in hindsight is longer than most of my essays! If you make pieces too long you are likely to deter your audience.

Editing is key

A blog piece is not finished once you’ve said what you wanted to say. The chances are your piece will contain mistakes; even the greatest writers make mistakes. Only through editing will you rid your work of mistakes. Take an extra 5 or 10 minutes and give your piece a once over. Editing makes your piece look more clean and professional.

The more you read the better your writing becomes

Only through reading other people’s work can you analyse the quality of your work. Try and find work that is similar to what you wish to achieve through your blog. For me, this involved reading articles on the Sky Sports app, the BBC Sport app and other sport blog sites. This doesn’t mean you have to spend all day reading, but a little here or there only benefits you.

Social media boosts readership

Sites like WordPress and Medium allow your writing to be read by a select audience. It is through social media that you can really get your readership up. Be it through links to your blog site or through a social media page dedicated to your blog, social media connects your blog to people who wouldn’t be able to view it otherwise. Connecting more people with your writing can only be a good thing.

With thanks to Bexlee Andrew

--

--