What I wish I’d known before…studying abroad.

Ellen Hudson
Writing in the Media
4 min readJan 31, 2017

It’s harder on your own.

Image credit: Unsplash / Andrew Neel

When the opportunity to spend a year studying abroad as part of my college degree arose, I couldn’t refuse. Learning languages was never my strong point, so I opted to study at the University of Kent in Canterbury. I was so excited to spend a year away from the familiar surroundings of Dublin and to challenge myself.

One week before I was due to leave, I was informed that I was going to be the only person from my home university studying in Canterbury. My heart sank. While I was so excited to remove myself from the familiar, the thought of moving to an unfamiliar place without knowing a single soul was terrifying.

Now, I’m so glad that I took a leap into the unknown and decided to go on my own. This experience has taught me so much and I hope that what I have learned in three and a half short months can be of some benefit to anyone considering traveling alone.

1. You’re really not as independent as you think you are.

I always saw myself as someone who was completely independent, who could go places and do things alone. Once I moved to Canterbury, I realised how wrong I was. I was lucky enough to live twenty minutes away from Maynooth University, meaning when I left secondary school, I could stay at home.

I lapped this up. I didn’t have to worry about rent or living with strangers. The fridge was always full and I had full access to Sky+. In Canterbury, that all changed. I was fortunate enough to be allocated housing on campus, and I moved into a house with 8 strangers. My wake-up call to how easy I had it was deafening. I suddenly had to share a bathroom with a girl I didn’t know, while negotiating fridge space and who takes out the bins. I realised that not everyone would be happy to keep a communal space constantly spotless. I had to learn to deal with people being extremely loud at all hours, both day and night. My accommodation ultimately has become the most challenging aspect of this experience. Arguably, the worst part has been having to cook for myself; I vastly under-appreciated my mother’s cooking while I had it.

2. Your relationships, both new and old, are going to change completely.

One thing that has overwhelmed me in the past few months is how lonely I feel sometimes. It may seem an obvious thing to say, but there have been some nights when the homesickness has gotten so strong that I’ve considered just forgetting about the whole thing and going home. It has been a very isolating experience. Between being away from my parents, my boyfriend, my best friends, and even my dog, it is easy to feel alone.

I have found however that I put more effort into these same relationships. I make sure that I text my mother every day about everything; what I’m eating, how I’m feeling, how my classes are going. Sunday has become my designated FaceTime night, which is an absolute lifesaver. I always have something to look forward to at the end of the week, and checking in with my family always sets me up for the week ahead.

3. You will be free to broaden your horizons — finally.

The one drawback to studying so close to home is that almost everyone that I knew did the same. When I started university in 2014, it wasn’t a massive change. The majority of my year in secondary school was studying at the same place; some of these girls have been a part of my academic life since I was 4 years old. University was comforting, but also limiting; I was afraid to pursue my true interests as there were so many people to see me fail.

In choosing to study abroad alone, I let go of that safety blanket. I’ve pursued an old passion of mine, acting, with the T24 Drama society, even receiving a role in last term’s Othello. I have felt uninhibited by the opinions of strangers, and instead have challenged myself to chase the things I really want. Sometimes I wish I had someone to experience this with, but I’m glad I have no one else holding me back. I’m just over halfway through my Erasmus experience, and I eagerly anticipate what is still to come.

With thanks to Adele Irlam.

--

--