What I wish I’d known before working with children…

Hannah Ost
Writing in the Media
3 min readJan 31, 2020
Waiting in the wings of my first youth show @ Hannah Ost

I got my first teaching job at a youth theatre company when I was 17. I’d been a student there for a number of years and with a background in classical singing and my piano grades in the bag, I thought that being a Musical Director for a group of 8–18-year-olds would be easy-peasy. Needless to say, I was wrong.

By my sixth rehearsal, I’d seen it all — chest infections, water fights INSIDE near electrical equipment, a dance bag ruined by a 9-year old’s vomit. Two years on and I was heading up the area, training new members of staff and going on courses in safeguarding and chaperoning. But no course in the world can truly prepare you for working with kids. It’s a definite learn-on-the-job kind of thing. So, this one goes out to all the new teachers, holiday reps and babysitters. Here are 5 things I wish I’d known before working with children…

1. Make a plan

Children can smell your fear. They know when you’re unprepared and they will definitely pull you up on it. Make sure you adequately prepare tasks and activities and practice timings if it’s your first lesson. It might also be an idea to think of a couple of backup activities in case you need them.

2. Nothing will go to plan

That being said, don’t expect to stick to it, no matter how many backups you have prepared. Things go wrong and it’s important to be able to improvise when they do. Don’t let this scare you — after a few power cuts and first aid emergencies, you’ll get used to it!

3. Children say the funniest things

At this point, I think I’ve heard it all. When I worked at a children’s summer camp for three months, I was around the kids 24/7, so I really got to know them. All the same, I couldn’t help but marvel at the things they’d come up with. A personal favourite, from a boy who’d hit his face running into a wall: “Why is snot green and blood red? It’s like Christmas in my nose.” Brilliant.

4. Never make promises

Serious note, although a lot of what they say is hilarious, sometimes children will tell you something that could be dangerous. It is always your responsibility to safeguard the child and for that reason, it’s important not to promise to keep their secrets. Remember, you’re in charge of young lives and in a beautiful way, you play a part in shaping who they are. It’s amazing, but it requires you to be the grown-up they need sometimes.

5. Respect is earned

Kids don’t have to like you. Some of them won’t. But they don’t have to like you to know that you’re the boss. You have to find the middle ground between being their best bud and being a ruthless dictator — a friendly face who knows the rules is where you’re aiming. Outlining your expectations of your students is a good move but balance it out by outlining what they can expect of you as well. By doing this, you’re building rapport and a sense of community. You’re letting them know that you’re equals and you’re not talking down to them.

Teaching is one of the hardest jobs you’ll ever love. It’s hard work, long hours and sometimes you question why you’re up at 2am glueing rhinestones to a tutu. But it’s also incredibly rewarding to see young minds excel and there’s no better feeling than opening a thank you card, whilst drinking out of your ‘No. 1 Teacher’ mug. So go forth and teach, in the knowledge that you’re educating the minds of tomorrow… and you’re doing a great job.

--

--