Brand New To Medium? Here Are Some Questions You Might Have

Based on actual questions I got recently

Kenzie Kuo
Writing Is Cheaper Than Therapy

--

Image from rawpixel.com

Just signed up to Medium a few hours ago and don’t quite get the lay of the land yet? It’s okay, we’ve all been there before. When I first started out, I had the same exact questions.

I put together this story to help answer some of those questions.

Let’s kick off with this one…

Are you getting money for your articles?

This is a fun question. This was my biggest burning question just before I got started with Medium. The short answer is — yes.

But before you run off to quit your day job and start writing, you need to understand a few things. I think the best way to think about Medium is that it’s like YouTube. There are celebrity-level writers who have been here since the platform really started taking off circa 2015. Those are the ones making $20k+ monthly with single articles pulling in up to $6k each. While I don’t have much data here, I suspect these are mostly outliers.

The key here is not to delude yourself.

Most people I personally know make less than $100 per month. This is a much more realistic goal to target. Nobody starts playing baseball assuming they’ll hit a…

--

--