Things I Would Change About My 30s

Don’t make the same mistakes I did

Ilam Padmanabhan
Writing Magic

--

Looking back at my 30s, what will I do differently?

Post 227/500

What do you feel when you hear someone say, “I wish I would have known that earlier”?

I blew my thirties — big time!

I will share the 20 ways I blew my thirties.

Why? So, you don’t have to blow your 30s to enter the 40s much wiser.

Don’t make the same mistake I did! Your path to wisdom doesn’t need you to make all the mistakes yourself. Enough of us have screwed up already. Just take the lessons from other people’s mistakes.

Here are the ways I blew my 30s:

Personal Finance

  1. Believed more working = more money: I used to think that if I just worked more, I would make more money. But, there is a limit to how much you can work. You will only make so much per hour, day, week, month, or year no matter how many hours you work. I would miss birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, and other important events because I was “too busy” working.
  2. Picked money over time with family: I was always working. I sacrificed time with family and friends to make more money. I now realize that you can’t make up for the lost time. It’s a decade I spent working, and I’ll never get it back.

--

--

Ilam Padmanabhan
Writing Magic

Love to read and write about Software Engg, Agility, QA, Future of Humanity, AI, Books, Travel, Politics, Climate Change, Personal Finance, Writing & Life!