Downtown Reno’s Riverwalk, an area many homeless frequent.

Homeless volunteer impacts his community

Analisa Hurt
Writing Nevada
Published in
6 min readDec 12, 2015

--

When I started my service learning at Good Shepherd’s Clothes Closet in downtown Reno, I did not expect to connect to anyone or feel any differently by the end of it. I was going to finish my fifteen hours, get the paper signed, and get out. Instead, I met Ted Robinson, one of the most inspiring people I’ve ever met, and realized just how wrong I had been in my perception of the homeless.

As winter rapidly approaches Reno, things become busier and busier for charities helping those in need. Good Shepherd’s sees this almost every year, as they struggle to provide plenty of warm clothing for Reno’s less fortunate. The charity helps many directly, however it can also indirectly affect its volunteers in a positive way. Often, it can help those who are struggling to get back on their feet, and provide a sense of purpose.

My first day, I was scared out of my mind of what I would experience. The clothes closet is located right in the center of the homeless community — all of the Volunteers of America’s shelters are located within walking distance. I was nervous to leave my car in the lot, although now I feel guilty for being so suspicious.

Ted posing outside downtown coffee shop, cigarrettes in hand.

Walking inside, I was greeted by my supervisor, John Hill, a kind-looking older gentleman, who introduced me to Ted Robinson, telling me that we would be working together at the counter folding and bagging clothes. Robinson was disheveled and smelled heavily of cigarettes, with a happy, toothless grin. He was a friendly, homeless volunteer who constantly joked with me in front of the customers, and told me that it was important to make people smile.

“Everybody’s not going to get what they want, or how much they want, because there’s limits to everything…even if they could only get one jacket instead of two, say “oh, come on pick out the best one,” make it seem like a game,” Robinson said.

Almost all of the volunteers exercise this attitude, and Robinson encourages it. When I first started working, I was shy and a little scared, but Robinson soon got me joking along with him and trying to get the customers to smile as much as I could.

I volunteered at Good Shepherd’s four times, and every time I did I saw Robinson, smiling and joking with everyone, and it brightened my day. He has that affect on people despite his rough past, which I asked him to speak with me about over coffee.

“I tried to be stupid and hurt myself but I didn’t succeed. I’m not going to do that again…”

Robinson is originally from Illinois. He came to Reno 22 years ago with his wife after they had just gotten married. They were married for 17 years before her death in 2008, and he continues to mourn her to this day.

Before his marriage, Robinson had a difficult time growing up. In 1973, his father murdered his 7-year-old brother. He still blames himself for his brother’s death, saying that he should have been there. After the tragedy, his home fell apart, and he was shuffled around foster and group homes until he turned 18.

This time last year, Robinson was not yet homeless. After a friend of his took all of the money he had saved up, he was evicted, and then became homeless, he said. Now, he lives at the men’s shelter near Good Shepherd’s, and is a part of a program called Operation ReStart, which helps homeless people to get back on their feet by assisting them and providing service for mental illness. Due to his circumstances, Robinson can benefit greatly from the help. Just a few weeks ago, he attempted suicide, which I heard about from a fellow volunteer and struggled to bring up during our chat. Luckily, he mentioned it without my asking.

“I tried to be stupid and hurt myself but I didn’t succeed. I’m not going to do that again,” Ted says.

Although mental illness can be a largely contributing factor to homelessness (the National Coalition for the Homeless www.nationalhomeless.org found it was the third leading cause of homelessness in single Americans), there are many other factors that go into it. Ted has seen the issue of substance abuse in a few, but he does not see the issue as a norm.

“Anytime that you have a gathering of a bunch of people who basically became homeless due to not caring and they’re out drinking, they’re out drugging, then they create a problem,” Ted said.

John Hill later spoke with me about the affect the Good Shepherd’s charity has had on the community. Just last year, they were able to provide clothing to around 30,000 people, although what truly moves John is his work with volunteers like Robinson.

“We work with a lot of people from the court systems and other agencies and, so, a lot of times we can help them improve themselves,” Hill said.

Robinson has been working at Good Shepherd’s for almost 3 months now and is well loved by everyone at the charity. Just as much as he brings joy to everyone at the charity, he is happy to help his community. He has also been volunteering with Salvation Army for about two years now.

View of Reno from UNR’s campus.

Although a few come in and create trouble, many are incredibly grateful to be provided with clothing, and especially warm clothing during this time of year. Ted recalls one instance when a man came in to get clothes and, as he was leaving, he “thanked them up and down until the point where he had tears in his eyes,” causing Ted to tear up as well.

“Once I do get out, no matter what, I’ll make time to go down there…”

Good Shepherd’s began in 1995, thanks to a number of volunteers from several churches. It provides clothes for those in need, without discrimination based on income. All customers have to do is get a voucher from the Reno Gospel Mission or the resource center next door, and they can shop for a number of specific items for themselves or their children. Ted spends his time there either bagging clothes, bringing in deliveries, or keeping his eye out for trouble.

Working alongside Robinson has truly impacted me, and stirred a passion for helping those in similar situations and getting to know them as more than just another homeless man or woman. Hearing his story and observing his upbeat attitude really inspires me to better myself. I plan on continuing to volunteer at Good Shepherd’s as much as I can to try and make people smile like he does.

Robinson currently sees a therapist once a week and is on antidepressants thanks to Operation ReStart, although by his attitude it’s hard to guess that he grapples with so many problems. He’s genuine, and prides himself on being a positive, good person, especially to those who come in to Good Shepherd’s. Soon, he hopes to find a job or receive disability benefits, so he can live on his own again.

“Once I do get out, no matter what, I’ll make time to go down there [Good Shepherd’s],” Robinson says.

All photos used in this article were taken by me. Thanks to my professor and lab instructor for all of the help this semester, and thanks to John Hill and Ted Robinson for making my experience at Good Shepherd’s so great!

--

--

Analisa Hurt
Writing Nevada

Journalist and writer. Number one inspiration: Frida Kahlo. More on http://www.insightunr.com.