My Perfect Christmas Scene

Breea Silva
writing one fifty
Published in
3 min readDec 10, 2018

I chose to make a work of art out of candy for my multi-modal project.

I chose this because it is different from any other project I’d ever done and I wanted to experiment with new forms of art. I have created poster boards,made scrapbooks, drawn, painted, sculpted, but I have never made art of of candy. Candy is not your typical medium for art and I felt that it was both creative and a little outside of the box.

I felt that candy best expressed the purpose for my project because the whole is comprised of many little pieces that come together to make the final product. I felt like any other form of media would not accurately depict the “parts coming to make a whole” idea that I wanted to portray because it would not be as visibly evident if I painted or drew the scene. I made a Christmas scene out of candy because I love all the many parts of Christmas coming together to achieve one final result.

The tools I used to complete this project were the individual candies, mostly skittles and m&ms, but also peppermints, paper, cardboard, and a hot glue gun. I used both m&ms and skittles because I felt that the difference in shape would be contrasting in certain areas.

I used the skittles as ornaments on the Christmas tree because they were more circular than the m&ms and so I thought they would best represent ornaments in comparison.

I made the wall behind the Christmas tree out of red m&ms because the wall in the family room where we set up the Christmas tree at my own home is red and I wanted to best and most accurately represent my picture of a Christmas scene.

I would have loved to make the wall across the entire “room” red, but unfortunately the packs of m&ms I bought did not have enough red ones to accommodate my desires. I decided on an orange wall instead because I had lots of orange m&ms. I made the chair blue for that same reason. I probably would’ve chosen a brown chair otherwise.

I thought I should include a window because there is a window behind the Christmas tree in my house at home and the snow outside was a nice touch which fits my “perfect Christmas scene”. The fire includes different shades of yellow and orange m&ms and skittles to imitate the various shades of real fire as well as a blue one on top to represent the hottest part of the fire.

I glued down every individual piece of candy with a hot glue gun to ensure they would not come off and I was meticulous in their placement. I could have used regular glue, but I was worried that they would fall off. I decided I wanted to glue it to cardboard because I wanted it to be able to stand. I wanted the viewer to feel like they were inside my perfect Christmas scene.

Five similar projects that inspired my own:

--

--