Making a New Run For It

A snapshot of my marriage

Anthony Haros
Writing Out Loud
2 min readMar 24, 2024

--

Image by Author created on Canva

Today, running was the greatest I have felt in a long time.

My wife and I have two toddlers (three and four) and it may be one of many other excuses, but to say I was on top of things like my health couldn’t be further from the truth.

My point is, that there was a lot of time spent just trying to survive mentally and financially.

These issues kept us from one of the many things that brought us together (physical fitness).

Lord knows the guilt I felt for my wife. She went through the majority of her pregnancies, suffering from her bouts with depression compounded by my issues with depression.

We both happen to be Bipolar, so it is by the grace of God we can have a functioning marriage.

Don’t get me wrong, she didn’t walk around like a zombie during that time, but I could tell something was always missing in her life.

Before the pregnancies of our daughters, running was her means of meditation. She used running as a part of her daily self-care routine. Running was her time to clear her head and deal with her emotions.

Through her rough time and new life with me, she still loved me like nothing I’ve ever known.

Consistent, natural unconditional love I’ve never had. She showed me unconditional love, but sadly it took me a while to understand and learn how to give the same.

Because of her I have met many incredible people and continue to learn about many others. In my eyes, I have never met a person as great as my wife.

During our first few years of marriage, she spent most of the time pregnant, followed by providing the constant care and nurturing of our young children.

She had three girls before me, and we have two. After five girls, we are praying for a boy.

Whatever gender we are given, we will be grateful and happy to grow our tree together.

During this pregnancy and into our future, we will continue to run to cleanse our minds, release negative energy, and live a healthier life spending more days content and thoroughly enjoying the journey we have been blessed with.

--

--

Anthony Haros
Writing Out Loud

I am a husband and father to a beautiful wife and family. I am a Marine Corps veteran writing my truth one story at a time.