Oh, Black Box

Sue Edwards
Writing Out Loud
Published in
1 min readJan 23, 2024

You approach me from afar

I see your darkness coming but can’t seem to fly far enough away to escape you

You seduce me into thinking I should follow you

You show me solitude and silence

You bring me doubt and desire

You suffocate me

You keep me restrained with chains I cannot see, you clip my wings

Sometimes I am able to escape

Sometimes I am able to feel

Sometimes I remember what it was like

And, sometimes I start seeing shards of light peeking through

I start flying that way

But then you chase me again and I fly back into the solitude of darkness

I briefly remember what it feels like to see brightness and beauty, to see colors and hear song, to enjoy, let go, and be free

It’s fleeting, but it’s imprinted on my mind and it brings me back from the darkness

Slowly I begin to shed the wings of darkness and hope I am not lured back into the pit where I’ve become so comfortable

I finally feel my wings lifting me out of the black box, towards the laughter, trails, the sun, and the beauty I once knew.

Slowly, steady, and sovereignly

I become me again.

~ 2021

Photo by Joel Lee on Unsplash

--

--

Sue Edwards
Writing Out Loud

An imperfect person living and creating a beautiful life ~ 🫶🏻🦋✨🪬