Beyonce At the VMAs (Throwback)

Saralynn
Writing the Ship
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2016

“ Y’all haters corny with that illuminati mess
Paparazzi, catch my fly, and my cocky fresh
I’m so reckless when I rock my Givenchy dress (stylin’)
I’m so possessive so I rock his Roc necklaces
My daddy Alabama, Momma Louisiana
You mix that negro with that Creole make a Texas bama
I like my baby heir with baby hair and afros
I like my negro nose with Jackson Five nostrils
Earned this money but they never take the country out me
I got a hot sauce in my bag, swag ”

-Beyonce, “Lemonade”

That is a short excerpt from one her country songs in her latest album, Lemonade. This is a throwback to the VMA MTV Music Awards that were presented on August 28th in New York. My girl, Beyonce, “slayed” with her performance of her song “Formation”. I was fortunate enough to get to see her perform live during the summer and she is unstoppable with her energy for dance and vocals. Then again on the red carpet; Beyonce stunned in a pale blue sheer dress, adorned in crystals that emulated drops of water. The shoulders on her dress are made of pale blue feathers, making Beyonce appear like an actual angel or and ice princess from afar. It was definetly Beyonce’s night to shine, with her beautiful gown, incredible performance, and endless awards for her music. Despite all of this, Beyonce decided to use her spotlight in order to bring attention to a few of her special guests on the red carpet.

Amongst her beautifully-dressed “squad” of many recognizable faces from the media, stood 4 women that were not so familiar. These 4 mystery women are not celebrities but in fact the mothers of the four men, Trayvon Martin, Eric Garner, Michael Brown and Oscar Grant II whose deaths sparked the “Black Lives Matter” movement. Together, Gwen Carr (mother of Garner), Lezley McSpadden (mother of Brown), Wanda Johnson (mother of Grant) and Sybrina Fulton (mother of Martin) are known as the “Mothers of the Movement”.

So where is the crossover between the Mothers of the Movement and Beyonce’s hit “Formation”? Her song is about empowerment and pride for her heritage. She praises her African American features, her hair and her nose, specifically features have been so detested in the past. Shaming all the racism and discrimination that has arisen from appearances with the tone of her voice. Her perfectly powerful poignant voice. She tops it off by assuring others that she has remained humble despite having “earned all this money”. She sneers at the paparazzi and those caught up in rumors about her, like Beyonce’s supposed involvement with the iluminati. Proving that despite all of her fame, she will always remain close to her heritage.

--

--