4 June 24

mjbwriting
writing thinking saying
2 min readJun 4, 2024

Notice. I remember. A song to last the night. A cool drawn bath. A drink of something you prefer. A mystery you do not solve. Nor should you be able to. A camping trip that’s cancelled just in time. Because of bears or fire. And a hole in the tent. And no signal.
No bullies on the ground. In front of you. Put that stick away. Whether it’s a carrot or a spike is irrelevant.
Whipped into a frenzy by the ice cream. Nice dream if you can get it. Dreams are not to get, they’re to have.
This scene is marked to cut it out in most of the versions taught in public schools. I don’t know why they are so violently expressing all of their volcanic rage. That was meant to be ironic.
Wait a minute, let me listen to this John Cage piece again. I didn’t think of him before I thought about Glen Gould. But then Laurie Anderson and Pauline Oliveros and of course Dana Reason came to mind. And of course Gertrude Stein. And of course Alan Watts. And of course a piano and a table.
And of course Yoko Ono. And of course a book on mushrooms and the trend advanced by Paul Stamets. And of course I shook John’s hand when I was just a teen. If anybody ever can be said to be only just a teen. And of course Fred Frith and Henry Cow and their piece called Teenbeat. And Derek Bailey. And Doris Day. Matt Busby, dig it, dig it, dig it. A beatnik in a towel on the beach. Gary Snyder was beside her. Allen Ginsberg was beside himself.
Sorry, I meant say a beatnik in a Howl. Or an hour and a half. Half off on Tuesdays if they get it to you later than a half an hour. Someone said that sales are gauche but I say they are right. Or wrong if they are wringing in the sheaves. So they say.
I can read what I like if you’d only let me in. Your cloud is dirty. I can clean it. If there is a wind I can listen to it closely. That often clears things up.
I have a magic spell I’m saving for the world. I keep it in my wallet — the one made out of a painting done by Basquiat. Something about water in a river or an ocean or a lake or a pond or a creek. Let the tadpoles go, I say.

--

--

mjbwriting
writing thinking saying

An experimental writer. PhD. Novels: Monkey & Anderson (Pedlar Press). Oblique Journal: The Hinge of Things. I also make music and photos.