Photo by Tero Vesalainen

Please Steal My Topic Ideas!

Really — take them.

Valerie Sizelove
Published in
5 min readJul 23, 2018

--

Heads up! You are about to encounter 100 fresh topic ideas that I have brainstormed in response to Frank McKinley’s new 30 Day Writing Challenge. It starts tomorrow (July 23), but really, who cares when it starts? I’m personally in it for the social accountability, but to each their own.

Frank suggested that we spend the weekend brainstorming 100 topic ideas to utilize during the next 30 days. In theory, it should be easy to come up with a topic per day with such a large list to choose from.

My goal was to finish the list a day early, so that I could share my topic ideas with you, my fellow writers. I basically puked my current mental preoccupations onto the page. (On another note, what a great journaling method!)

Whether you are joining in on the challenge fun or not, it never hurts to pick someone else’s brain. Please check out my list for writing ideas, fun ponderings, or even just to get a deep glimpse into my mind.

I don’t mind if you steal my ideas (though I also wouldn’t mind a shout-out in any resulting posts), because, as you probably already know, we all write from different unique viewpoints. An idea contained in a short phrase? Yea, I’m willing to share that with you. I am pretty sure that you and I won’t create the same exact post.

And if your post does better than mine? More power to you! I will be ecstatic to have helped you gain success.

So, without further ado, here are my 100 brainstormed topics for Frank’s 30 Day Writing Challenge:

  1. The power of having a capable phone
  2. My mental health journey
  3. Writing goals
  4. Blog format tips
  5. Finally catching up on bills
  6. Intersectionality
  7. The worst manager I ever had
  8. We want to see the faces behind the writers
  9. I have tough strong babies full of life
  10. One secret the rich have that helps them stay rich: they don’t have that big money sucker, worry.
  11. I don’t know half of my family
  12. I don’t want pity. I want to be praised for perseverance
  13. Kids at baseball
  14. What is a soul mate?
  15. Parenting is hard because of society & authority. People don’t understand that spoiling my kids makes life harder for them.
  16. City vs country people
  17. Types of friends throughout life
  18. There is a whole group of people who live lives online, writers, promoters, YouTube tutorials (online community)
  19. Being messy
  20. Not living for what you’re worth
  21. If I could talk to my abusive grandma now, as an adult
  22. Things you didn’t know about breast implants
  23. Playing with my kids is boring
  24. The toilet paper battle
  25. What is a shower to a mom?
  26. Why I love Supernatural
  27. Handmaid’s Tale
  28. It’s hard to keep cooking every day
  29. Why I don’t believe in benzos
  30. The only people who should be able to form opinions about marijuana is those who have used it.
  31. Why cats are better than dogs
  32. Quitting smoking by age 30
  33. Using charts with my kids has helped
  34. It’s impossible to get my large family on a routine
  35. Why I breastfeed- despite feeling tied down
  36. Rural vs urban people
  37. The ebb and flow of writing when you have depression
  38. Seeing old friends after years have passed
  39. Where are all the kids?! When I was a kid, they were always outside
  40. Why I had my kids (mostly) naturally
  41. I can’t go to sleep with my kids
  42. When my dogs had puppies the same day as I gave birth
  43. Common gardening mistakes
  44. Marijuana for mental health
  45. I have a good metabolism
  46. Potty training tips
  47. Don’t worry so much about milestones in your kids
  48. Oppositional defiant disorder
  49. I live in a codependent relationship and I’m ok with it
  50. My phobias
  51. I’m messy but I know what clean is supposed to be — this causes so much distress! I can’t meet my own standards!
  52. Intro to 30 day challenge
  53. Letter to my mom — I don’t blame you anymore. I’m a grown ass woman.
  54. I’m a child in a woman’s body. What makes you an adult anyway?
  55. Guide to getting rid of head lice — it’s not as complicated as you think!
  56. Weekly Knob post
  57. Written promptly together prompt response
  58. I stopped drinking, became an adult, and now I drink again (but like a normal person)
  59. The artist inspired by substances — is it good or bad?
  60. Wishful multitasker
  61. Writing in the morning or evening?
  62. The endless search for the right career
  63. Getting through college while raising a family
  64. I have 4 kids but my advice probably won’t help you. Because each kid is so different. My own advice doesn’t even help me half the time.
  65. If we were only now just getting to know each other, what secrets would we share? What would we ask each other? My husband, my best friends
  66. When it feels like you barely know your family anymore
  67. When does a new hometown really start to feel like home?
  68. Writing online can improve your self-esteem
  69. Is gender present at birth? I think so.
  70. Does your mental illness necessarily need to be named? I don’t think so.
  71. Are rant posts as good as advice posts? I’d argue yes.
  72. What depression and anxiety feel like for me
  73. Plans for next year’s garden
  74. Why an income increase is scary after years of scraping the bottom of the barrel
  75. Why you should puke your life onto Medium
  76. What is a cigarette to me?
  77. Living with a hyper-analytical and hyper-observant mind
  78. The power of good nurses
  79. What it’s like to have zero current friends
  80. Writing for the public is therapy
  81. Integrative studies — my college major and my life
  82. How you know you are in love
  83. Be brave and bare it all (at least online)
  84. Should I create a separate pseudonym to share my secrets with the internet world?
  85. What I am learning from the 30 day challenge
  86. Using your dark moments to connect with others
  87. My Medium story
  88. Why do we love getting a glimpse into the lives of others online?
  89. My social media profile pictures are reflections of separate parts of my personality.
  90. Setting a public deadline helps you keep churning out writing.
  91. Social anxiety is a bitch
  92. I have never minded sharing.
  93. I’m a northerner planted in the semi-south
  94. An attempt at a poem
  95. Sick moms vs. sick dads
  96. Writing in a conversational tone
  97. How to plant your first veggie garden
  98. I’m I don’t get sports and my husband is obsessed
  99. Do you have to spend every minute trying to occupy your kids? Kids need to learn to entertain themselves
  100. Life through the eyes of my baby

So there you have it! Now that the list is done, I realize that I’ve shared a lot about myself with you — I feel a little naked. Besides giving you some prompts, I’m also sharing these ideas is because I’d like to find out what you want to read.

Please comment below with your favorite topics to offer me some guidance along this journey. I’ll check in with you soon!

And if you haven’t yet, check out Frank’s challenge here:

Follow me for updates on Twitter and Facebook.

--

--

Valerie Sizelove
Writing Together

Early 30’s, mentally complex, twisted and honest, reflecting and growing, catching and sharing gems with all my kindred. Soul connection addict. Shapeshifter.