A Road Not Travelled

A Poem About Reconsideration

Michael Holford
Writing101
Published in
2 min readNov 8, 2022

--

Photo by Marlin Clark on Unsplash

How many times have I contemplated the many roads not travelled?

How many expected destinations have become unexpectedly unravelled?

Those best-laid plans that ended their run in garbage cans, forlorn

Wondering why things didn’t comply, some dreams were never born

When looking back at my life, with its mix of both joy and strife

Why do these feelings of regret still cut me deeply like a knife?

Why can’t I stop making excuses, for the abuses, I’ve brought myself?

How many times must I rush to take my worn regret book off its shelf?

Each of us has inside our hearts, both darkness, and a shining light

We often rush headlong into the wrong rather than cling to the right

But there is always a way to freedom even if we end in chains

And even in the midst of tragedy, a seedling of hope remains

And hope is the one virtue above all others that can resurrect

We can all find a way, in spite of it all, to embrace its good effect

To live from mercy, in all its elements, to embrace the humble truth

--

--