All I Ever Wanted Was to Write

The emotional journey of a fragile teenager’s desire

Niki Tisza
Writing101
Published in
6 min readJan 7, 2023

--

a doodle of a typewriter with the word ‘write’ written on a paper
Illustration by the author

I’ve been fascinated with letters, words, sentences, and stories since I remember.

I learned the alphabet before going to elementary school.

Soon, I moved on to writing my journals as an escape from everything that was happening around me. It was my own little world where nothing bad could happen.

Then I dipped my toes into fiction writing.

I have 7 (unpublished) books in Hungarian.

It’s all analog. Nothing is digitalized, yet.

I keep telling myself, maybe one day.

But the truth is, I lost interest in writing in Hungarian.

And for a long time, I blamed Ms. Taylor for it.

The mind of a teenager

I went the grammar school between the ages of 14 to 18.

I loved Hungarian.

I loved writing.

I loved reading.

I loved Hungarian poetry.

I loved everything about words.

I loved dissecting sentences…what could Attila Jozsef mean and feel when he wrote My mother?

--

--