Eulogy for my dad, Melvyn Brown

I was Blessed to be his son

Warren Brown
Writing101
Published in
2 min readJul 22, 2023

--

Melvyn Brown, R.I.P.

I was blessed to have a father who was a good friend, mentor and parent in life. My dad, Melvyn Brown was a Storyteller, Founder of Ambassadors for Jesus, a lay Roman Catholic unification movement and a prolific writer, Chronicler for the Anglo-Indian community.

Dad, introduced my sister Sabrina and myself to the world of storytelling. As a young man, Melvyn Brown, was a prolific writer and a storyteller, introducing generations of children in India to the world of storytelling and creative writing, in schools and through radio broadcasts.

In 1979, my dad founded the Ambassadors for Jesus, a lay Roman Catholic unification movement. In this mission, dad organized all night vigils, exhibitions on the faith, pro-life and vocations, concerts for youth, sports like football and basketball for young people, he also published the All Parish Paper, for over three decades and the Catholic Post. Dad worked at St. Xavier’s College for over 40 years and he was Peter Pan at The Herald, a Catholic weekly newspaper for over four decades.

In 1991, my dad Melvyn Brown took up the cause of working with the Anglo-Indians of India and abroad, by publishing “The Anglo-Indian Newsletter”, books on the community, and he also organized several events in the city of Kolkata to enrich and educate the members of the Anglo-Indian community on their rich and diverse cultural heritage.

Dad, you will be missed by me, your daughter Sabrina, your daughter-in-law, your son-in-law, your grandchildren, and by all the members of the Catholic and the Anglo-Indian communities in India and abroad. Bye for now, Dad, I will miss you, but I know that you and mum are together once again. I love you always Dad.

--

--