Here’s Why To Write Consistently

Alysa
Writing101
4 min readOct 9, 2023

--

Photo by Kris Atomic on Unsplash

I’ve come across bundles of stories in the past week about writing consistently. A few writers shared their stories about how they joined Medium recently and already gained thousands of followers. I was like,

Does this actually work?

Additionally, there were also some stories about writers who have been writing for years but didn’t even get noticed. It’s as if they were only writing for themselves, and nobody else bothered to read it.

So, I decided to check it myself because I was also new to medium and had almost no followers. After that moment, I decided to write consistently,

Do you know what happened next?

Let me tell you, it’s been a week since I started writing consistently. Yeah just a week and few more days.

But the thing I discovered in these few days was quite shocking.

Every single day, I publish on medium, I learn something new. Whenever, I thought:

I know everything, now.

There’s always more and more and more.

You can never stop learning. I discover something new every day when I write daily. Basically, when you write consistently, you’re actively working on improving your skills more frequently. You strive to write something new everyday.

So yeah...If you write daily, you learn daily.

Take a look at this,

Work and screenshot Credit Alyza

That’s my first story on Medium, and it was rather pathetic. If you’re new here, you might wonder,

What’s wrong with it?

Let me explain some of the issues. The problem here is I didn’t interact with my readers, I just kept on writing and pouring more and more information, without bothering to communicate.

Additionally, I didn’t manage my story well. If you take a look at it, long paragraphs with no bulleted list or anything else to break up the text. More than half of the readers find these long paragraphs scary and don’t read.

When you write, people read. When they read, they feels like they’re talking to you. But if you keep talking about the things you want to say instead of listening or relating to your readers, what’s the point of being a writer?

After publishing my first story, I explored medium as much as I could. Then, I published another story, and I realized I was far from becoming a skilled writer. So, I decided to write daily to learn quickly and to keep up the pace.

The moment you become lazy and stop writing to take a break, you stop learning. Your creativity begins to fade. When you think even for a second,

I’ve been writing for weeks and nobody reads. Let’s skip today. It doesn’t matter anyway.

You skip once, and then twice and then more frequently. Before you know it, you start finding it difficult to write

You stop exploring and become lazy, which is a nightmare for a writer.

Audience Building:

Consistent writing also aids in growing your audience. You can interact with your readers daily and your readers would know that they’ll get to read your story consistently. They might also become curious about your next story.

The benefits of writing consistently go beyond this. There’s also a factor that comes into play when you write regularly —

Luck:

Yes, luck. If luck is onto your side, perhaps one of your random story will start gaining more attention and you might accumulate thousand of followers in the process. But, this largely depends on the quality of your story and to some extent your luck.

It’s important to keep in mind that this doesn’t happen overnight; it might take weeks, months, or even years. You must have patience if you want to be a writer.

Quality over Quantity?

When we talk about writing consistently, many writers misunderstand it as thinking all they need to do is write, regardless of the content or effort they put in. They believe that if they publish every day, people will love them. Of course, this isn’t the case at all.

If you start publishing daily without conducting thorough research on your topics and just focus on publishing it somehow, you certainly won’t attract readers because what you’re writing is crap and of poor quality. So, should you solely focus on quality? Not quite.

If you’re new, make sure to have at least five or more drafts before you start publishing. This will help you if you’re struggling with a topic, and you won’t rush to publish insufficiently explored content. That’s how you can manage your quantity.

It’s always essential to maintain both quality and quantity.

To subscribe, click here. 🌈🌈

Follow me, if you liked my story. 🌸

:)

--

--

Alysa
Writing101

I take pleasure in writing and I aim to ensure that my readers also find enjoyment in my work. Let's stay in touch. https://medium.com/@ranaaleeza1/subscribe