Poem: Intimacy

Kehinde Bello
Writing101
1 min readAug 8, 2023

--

Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

At first, I just saw you on the outside

Just a man in my personal space

Not too close but close enough

Intimacy is a funny thing how it grows

It happens slowly, then suddenly

Slowly, I got to know you, suddenly things changed

Don’t think this is about love because it’s not

It doesn’t have to be that for me to notice…

Notice the way I want to be around more than I should be admitting

Our intimacy grew before the first touch

Whose fault? We will never know

I pray to see you in another way and I know that it will happen someday soon

It’s crazy that this isn’t love…

but just a place where I can be myself and be free

I tuck my emotions under my heart but they rise when I’m near you again

I tried to keep this in my head but the ringing of the words in my thoughts just needed to be let out

It’s okay to feel this way, I tell myself…. again and again

But now it is time to pray

I know my God has the one on his way

So I guess this is my unofficial/official way of letting you go

From my intimacy

Goodbye

--

--