Hollow

A Letter Never Sent

Sreese
Published in
1 min readDec 16, 2021

--

I just won’t forget.
Yes, I’ve tried.
Confession did not heal me.

So I vent and yet
I still cry
Over cruel reality.

K V Unslpash

I have tried to let go
Opened my heart
You keep crawling back inside.

I’ve tried to let you know
The sad part
There’s still much I must hide.

I wrote you a note
Not a song
Mailed it in a hollow tree.

When I did return
It was gone.
I don’t know! How that could be?

Didn’t cure the ache.
It’s still there,
I think it is forever.

Curse! It didn’t break
You don’t care
Because you wouldn’t ever.

Was it a bird
Or rodent
That stole my secret thoughts from me?

To me this is absurd
The moment
Nothing in the hole I’d see.

When I didn’t find
My mistake
I wasn’t sure quite what to do.

Thought that crossed my mind
For God’s sake
Did my letter get to you!

--

--

Sreese
Writing101

Western New Yorker, musician, construction supply chain veteran, memoirist, never say never-ist. Top Writer in Sports and 2x Top Writer in Music.