Unlocking Creativity, What to Write When You Run Out of Ideas

Mashoda Shah
Writing101
2 min readJan 14, 2024

--

We’ve all experienced it. Sitting at our laptop, ready to write. Everything else is done, and we have set aside time for writing. But then our mind goes blank. We twiddle our thumbs and run our hand through our hair, hoping ideas will come. What do we do in this situation? Since joining Medium on November 22th, I have written 40blog posts and have never missed a day of posting. Sometimes ideas come easily, but other times they don’t.

But what do I do when I can’t think of what to write about? Surely, there must have been times when I sat down and couldn’t come up with any words to type.

I steal, like a thief.

Now listen carefully, because there’s a big difference between stealing properly and just stealing.

I read what other people write, look at their articles, and choose a point to expand on. It’s really that easy. I don’t just repeat what they’ve said, that’s boring and lazy.

For example, if someone writes an article about 3 reasons why writing is the best side hustle, and one of the points is ‘it improves your consistency,’ I will write an article about how writing improves consistency or why consistency is crucial for side hustling.

3 ways use writing as a side hustle

Writers can connect with clients who need writing services on platforms like Upwork, Fiverr, and Freelancer.

Begin your own blog. You can make money by advertising, creating sponsored content, and using affiliate marketing.

You can self-publish your novels, short stories, or non-fiction works using platforms like Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) and others.

--

--

Mashoda Shah
Writing101

Hello everyone I'm a processional Article and blog writer.