Getting Started in TV Writing

Brian Paris
WritingForTV
Published in
1 min readDec 5, 2017

Welcome to Writing for TV.

My name is Brian Paris, (more information about me) and I, too, am working on becoming a TV Writer.

On this site, I would like to provide information and resources to help working and aspiring tv writers. This page is dedicated to those of you just getting started. When I was beginning, I had no idea what I was doing or where to even begin looking for information. I hope that others will find this information useful when getting started.

Your first stop should be the Children of Tendu podcast. Javier Grillo-Marxuach and Jose Molina are long time TV writers, and they started their podcast to share the insights and information that they have learned over the years. So, go ahead, start at the beginning and listen to every episode that they have posted. Their podcast is a master class on TV writing, and it is free so you have no reason to not start your journey there.

If you have never seen a TV script before, here is a good article that explains the basics of Formatting a TV Script. It is probably a good idea to read some scripts as you are getting started. Check out Simply Scripts for a large archive of both TV and Feature Scripts.

--

--

Brian Paris
WritingForTV

Living Life to the Fullest! (Just like @ParisHilton)