Veronica’s cloth

Saint Veronica by Kristyn Brown of The Saints Project.

She walked out of a shadow
into His light;
with all the commotion
no one noticed,
yet before she approached
Jesus knew
she carried a balm

A warm cloth touched
His face,
a caress of love
of care
the gaze of a woman
who understands

With the care of a woman
in love
she took the cloth
as if to say,
I wipe your face
with tenderness
from my heart

all the rejection, spittle,
pain, the blood from your face,
I reach into your soul,
my Lord,
and I wipe all your hidden tears
as well

All the pain of this world
that as sweat
drips from your brow,
I wipe it
as I lay the warm cloth
on your face;
Oh Jesus,
I would do ever more
but this simple cloth
is all
I have

© Iva Beranek

--

--

Iva Beranek
Writings from the Catholic Abbey to the Secular World

Poet, writer, motivational speaker, spiritual director. I capture beauty through words & photography. PhD in Christian Spirituality (healing of memories).