UI Animations With Swift

And how to prototype them in a Playground

Xiomara Figueroa
xiomara.dev

--

I’ve been interviewing for iOS roles lately. In most cases, I’ve been asked to work on a small iOS app that I have to return in a week so they can review it and hopefully give me feedback. I like this process because you can really show off your skill set, and they can get a true understanding of your coding style and problem-solving abilities (depending on what they ask you to build).

The last one I worked on was for an application that has developed a solid and heavily animated UI. Because of that, one of the requirements in the iOS take-home was to include animations. This was a good opportunity for me to dig more into animations, and I spent some time playing around in our Playground.

Playgrounds are really cool! It’s a coding environment that allows a user to interact with Swift code, without requiring the user to create a project. That makes it a truly powerful tool to learn swift and to test some code or prototyping views.

Making Your Views Visible in Playgrounds

To make your views visible in Playgrounds, you need to import the module PlaygroundSupport.

import UIKit
import PlaygroundSupport

--

--