I Want A Deed On Peace

A poem

Adele Chee
Written From The Heart
May 4, 2021

--

Peaceful and calm landscape at the Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Peaceful and calm landscape at the Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom

This was a piece I wrote back in 2014 but it’s still or even more relevant today considering the social, environmental and health chaos that we’re in.

Peace,
Oh, why are you so elusive?
Or, are you just a myth?
Seriously, do you exist?
Everywhere, all I see and hear are skirmish,
The reason? Everyone wants to “own” a place to live.
Ever thought, how to have a “deed” on the air I breathe?
I mean, isn’t that the basic?
To live is to breathe?
Come on, inhale deep, take a whiff, claim that sniff!
Let the air immerse your mind, soul, body, and into your spirit seep,
How does the air feel, what is its speech?
Let it out, utter it, let the air speak,
I want a deed,
I want a deed on peace!

--

--

Adele Chee
Written From The Heart

Empowering others to lead an authentically fulfilling life through inspiring thought-provoking stories.