High — Week #7

Gwen Yi
Written Weekly
Published in
1 min readAug 8, 2016

Prompt: Mystery cookie

It showed up on my doorstep one morn.

One stumble, one misstep.

And it would have been gone.

I picked it up, looked down.

And frowned.

“Those darn girl scouts,” I huffed, and pulled open the wrapper.

“They’re probably going to come chasing for payment later.”

I took a bite.

Sweet and chocolatey,

with a tinge of herb.

I swallowed without saying a word.

I stumbled into the house, pulled out a chair.

Wrung my hands in total despair.

Should I tell my boss? Should I call in sick?

Nah, she’ll just think I’m a prick.

I got to my feet and shook my head.

The feeling hit me like a tidal wave.

RING RING.

“Hello?” I said, trying not to babble.

“John, we need you here on the double!”

“I can’t,” I said. He asked me why.

“I think I got accidentally high.”

This creative fiction piece was crafted in 30 minutes based on a writing prompt as part of Written Weekly, a writers’ group held weekly in PJ.

--

--