Can You Love Your Pet More Than Your Child?

The psychology behind the love for our pets

Ash Jurberg
With Love
Published in
6 min readNov 19, 2021

--

Photo by Ja San Miguel on Unsplash

I was nervous as there was a lot riding on the outcome of this meeting.

I was waiting for my colleague; we were meeting with an airline about a partnership that was worth hundreds of thousands to our business. And to be honest, a nice bonus for me.

As I went over my presentation, ready to win a new account, I got a text.

Cleo died. Not coming in.

I racked my brain. Who the hell was Cleo? My colleague had no children. She hadn't mentioned any sick relatives or friends.

I replied, expressing my sympathy and asking what happened.

The vet put her down.

Cleo was her cat.

I was disappointed that my colleague would miss the meeting due to a cat. But I would soon empathize.

Love hurts

I recently wrote about my dog being left for dead in a gutter after being hit by a car.

He was helpless, leg crushed, and unconscious. The driver sped off.

I’m sure — well, I’m hopeful, that if it were a human who had been hit, the driver would have stopped and called an ambulance. But in this instance, the driver…

--

--