A Fun Exercise To Spark Creative Thought

Barry Davret
Life skills
Published in
3 min readOct 14, 2017
Source: Stencil

How often do you pay close attention to the world around you? If you ask most people about their day, they rattle off one or two moments worth mentioning.

I won’t lie. My day lacks adventure and intrigue just like everyone else. Still, with a little imagination, a trip to my local Starbucks offers a wealth of creative possibilities.

Here is a simple exercise I do once a week. It helps spark my creativity muscle.

Walk into a coffee shop and take note of four or five people. Create a simple story about each of them. It could be a story about his background. It could be a struggle she overcame. Or, maybe it’s about where she’s headed in the future. There are no rules. Don’t spend a lot of time thinking about it. Do a stream of conscious type of writing.

I’ll share with you my own example. Yesterday, I walked into a Starbucks in Jersey City, NJ. It’s a large shop and bustles with activity. That makes it a great spot for this exercise. I picked five people I thought would be most interesting. Here are my three favorites.

No Manners?

Description: Woman in her mid 20’s sits on a big padded chair. There is a small table in front of her. Three other chairs surround the table. She writes in a leather-bound notebook.

What’s Interesting? She has her shoes off. Her bare feet rest on the small table.

Story: She’s an eclectic writer. She does not follow social norms. Most of us frown upon someone who puts their feet up on a table. Doing it in a public place draws attention. She knows this. She’s a rebel. She does things like this on purpose.

Awkward

Description: Two men sit at a table. One appears to be in his mid 30’s. The other appears to be in his early 20’s. It is a job interview.

What’s Interesting? I guess it’s a Millennial thing. The idea of a job interview at a coffee shop seems foreign to me, a Gen X’er.

Story: The interview makes my skin crawl. The interviewee struggles with several questions. He stumbles with his words. He gives nonsensical answers. A bunch of strangers sitting next to him adds to the awkwardness. The interviewer expects too much from someone who lacks experience. The interviewer himself lacks experience in this role. You can see it. He came in with a list of prepared questions. They seem designed for someone with years of experience, not someone new to the business world.

The Suitcase Man

Description: A man in his late 30’s wearing a suit. He’s carrying a suitcase.

What’s Interesting? Why is there always someone with a suitcase in this coffee shop? Yes, every single time there is someone with a suitcase.

Story: His office is across the street. He has an overnight business trip planned for later that day. After getting his coffee, he’ll go to the office and reply to emails. He’ll take a car service and go to the airport early. This allows him to eat a fancy lunch and sip a few martini’s before his trip — all of it charged to the corporate expense tab.

This exercise stretches the limits of your imagination. Try it out for yourself.

Before You Go…

Grab my creativity guide here. Plus, I’ll throw in my bullet writing guide and edit checklist.

If you found value in this story, please click on the “clap” button below. That helps others find it. Or, share it on social media. Connect with me on Twitter

--

--

Barry Davret
Life skills

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership