Do You Read Books More Than Once? Here Are The 13 I’ve Read At Least Twice

My Go To Bibles For Business, Writing, Persuasion, Creativity And Growth

Barry Davret
Life skills

Newsletter

4 min readJun 3, 2017

--

I walked into my office and noticed the cleaning person placed all my loose books on the shelves — and a few extra on the ledge to handle the overflow.

I took a quick look and grabbed the ones I needed.

It got me thinking.

Of all the books I own, which are the really great ones? And, how do I even define great?

I define a great book this way:

Any book that I’ve read at least twice.

That’s a simplistic definition. Sure. But consider this. You would never read a book more than once unless it blows your mind.

Plus, to get the most out of a great book, you need to read it several times. The information doesn’t stick after just one reading.

My interests lie in marketing, writing, persuasion, personal growth and creativity. Keep that bias in mind as you browse the list.

The 13 Books I’ve Read (At Least) Twice

1. Resonate by Nancy Duarte

This is a book on creating powerful presentations. If that’s all you use it for you’ll gain immense value. The concepts she teaches go far beyond the realm of presentations. I’ve applied the concepts in this book to copywriting and marketing. Every time I open up this book I learn something new. It’s impossible to extract all the value from a single reading.

2. Tested Advertising Methods (4th Edition) by John Caples

Everyone wants the latest and greatest tools and tricks to sell with words. One “trick” remains king. Ground yourself in the basics. Learn the building blocks of copywriting and persuasion. I’ve read this book several times. It’s my number one go-to source for correcting the bad habits I pick up.

Tip: Buy the 4th edition. It’s out of print. Buy a used copy for about $20. Avoid the current edition. It includes “updates” that detract from the value.

3. Made To Stick by Chip and Dan Heath

What makes a message stick? Dan and Chip lay it all out. I never intended to read this more than once. I keep going back to it. They explain the concepts in such concrete and simple terms. Hint — concreteness and simplicity are two of their secrets.

4. Wired For Story by Lisa Cron

Do you know how to write a good story? Lisa breaks it down into simple, easy to follow steps. I know everyone raves about Stephen King’s On Writing. I keep going back to Wired For Story because of the simplicity and the easy to follow examples she provides.

5. Thinking Fast And Slow by Daniel Kahneman

Although intended as a self-help book, it serves as a valuable primer for learning what makes humans tick. In fact, my interest in persuasion -stems from this book. Like Resonate, you need to read this book several times to glean the full value.

6. Tools Of Critical Thinking by David Levy

Ask ten people to define critical thinking. You’ll get ten different answers. Everyone preaches its importance. Nobody can really say what it means. Levy breaks it down into thirty meta-thoughts with clear examples. Besides the personal benefits from applying these lessons, it lays a foundation for studying why we do what we do.

7. Writing Tools by Roy Peter Clark

I debated whether I should include this. It’s more of a resource than a typical non-fiction book. It’s such a great source of writing wisdom I felt compelled to include it. Like Wired For Story, he includes real examples to go along with theory. Every writer needs this on their desk.

8. Mindset by Carol Dweck

Mindset plays such an important role in everything we do. The first time you read this book it blows your mind. Read it a second and third time to reinforce the lessons.

9. Influence — They Psychology Of Persuasion by Robert Cialdini

I first read this fifteen years ago. A former mentor recommended it to me. I went ten years before reading it again. The lessons are timeless. Many in the sales and marketing world refer to it as the bible.

10. A Technique For Producing Ideas by James Webb Young

This book is seventy-seven years old. It’s only twenty-five pages. The simplicity makes it the best book on creativity I’ve ever read.

11. Obvious Adams by Robert Updegraff

I write a lot about creativity. Sometimes, focusing on the obvious yields superior results. In an earlier story, I called this the best business book of the last 101 years.

12. The 48 Laws Of Power by Robert Greene

I first read 48 Laws Of Power in 2003. I’ve read a few times since. The book is now in tatters. I just bought myself a fresh new copy. You might look at some of his laws and think, “Ah. This is common sense.” It’s amazing how often we forget common sense.

13. The Dip By Seth Godin

I like all of his writing. This is my favorite. How many things do you stick with that serve no purpose, have no chance or make you miserable? It’s a short book that combines wisdom and inspiration.

If you enjoyed this story, please hit ❤ so others may find it.

--

--

Barry Davret
Life skills

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership