Hidden Persuasion Opportunities In Every Email

Barry Davret
Life skills
Published in
3 min readJan 15, 2017

One of the benefits I get from writing about this stuff everyday is that I remember to use these techniques when opportunities arise. A few days ago I wrote about making your customer or prospect the hero of your sales and marketing campaign. You can find that article here.

Yesterday, a client found some problem with our software. He raised hell just like all clients do when something frustrates them. I know the software fairly well. I know the clients business well. More important, I knew of a work-around that would solve their problem. The obvious next step would be to tell the client the work-around so we could all move on with our lives. That would have missed a golden opportunity to make this client the hero.

Persuasion For Everyday Communication

I usually write about persuasive writing techniques from a sales and marketing point of view. This example shows that persuasive writing benefits you in support roles and everyday communication.

First, instead of hitting reply-all I hit reply. Then, I wrote that there may be an alternate way of doing what you need to get done. I then laid out the possible work-around. Plus, I also added that it may not take any additional effort. Next, I wrote that if their business met these three criteria then this will work. Finally, I wrapped it up by asking him to do a quick check and see if it will work. If so, bring it to his boss as a suggestion.

Let’s unpack that a bit.

I knew in advance it would work. I also knew it would require zero additional effort on their part. So, why not just mention that and be done with it? Simple, I wanted to make this guy the hero. I gave him a few simple tasks to figure it out himself. Those small tasks gave him ownership of the solution. Then, he could take it to his boss and say that he found a solution. Voila, he looks like the hero who saves the day.

Your Payoff

What kind of benefit does that do for our working relationship going forward? Unless he’s a total narcissist or sociopath, he’ll feel a sense of reciprocation. He’ll feel that need to repay me in some way. Even if I never need his help, I made his day. I’ll take that as a payoff.

See how persuasive writing pays off even when you’re not in a sales and marketing scenario? How many emails a day do you write? Each one holds the potential to make your recipient the hero in some way. Get in the habit of asking yourself this question before you email someone:

How can I make this person the hero?”

Help someone look good in front of others. Make someone feel important by entrusting them with critical task. Tell others how something she did saved the day. Spend a minute thinking about it. You won’t find an answer all the time but when you do you may uncover golden opportunities to grow your relationship capital.

--

--

Barry Davret
Life skills

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership