Hunter Kelly, Strategy Intern & Akin Abode, Copywriting Intern at HAYMAKER

Los Angeles, CA

Natalie Kim
We Are Next
3 min readAug 31, 2018

--

I think Haymaker chose me because I can play in multiple worlds. I enjoy creative ideation just as much as strategy and research. I wanted to get my hands dirty in every part of the work and that’s what’s expected of everyone here.

The type of work I did this summer included everything from research, to helping with new business pitches, and contributing to creative work.

The most challenging thing was trying to put together a new business presentation in basically three days. We only barely managed to keep our sanity :)

The best thing about my internship was making new friends! That’s such a cheesy answer, but it’s always more fun to work with people you enjoy being around. I think we’ve had a lot of fun here.

The best learnings I’m taking away from this internship is realizing that I can do this. I still have a lot to learn but being able to tackle everything that’s been given to me here has definitely given me more confidence in my own skills.

My best advice for future interns is just to have a point of view and be as confident as you can about it. It can be hard to speak up in a room of experienced people and be vulnerable with your ideas, but you have to do it to get better.

🎧 Hear more about Hunter’s experiences at HAYMAKER in her We Are Next Podcast Minisode.

I think Haymaker chose me because they thought the view of the world from my eyes was something different.

The type of work I did this summer included a whole bunch of everything.

The most challenging thing was being ready to hit the ground running at a moment’s notice.

The best thing about my internship was being a part of the genuine article.

The best learnings I’m taking away from this internship is any time is the best time to bring it.

My best advice for future interns is when you tell yourself you can do something, you can do it.

🎧 Hear more about Akin’s experiences at HAYMAKER in his We Are Next Podcast Minisode.

Huge thank you to Hunter & Akin and HAYMAKER for being part of Intern Fieldnotes, Vol. 1! For more insight and advice from summer interns at agencies all over the country, check out the full series.

Find all of We Are Next’s resources at we-are-next.com. Subscribe to our Weekly email for advice and insight from the industry, check out internship opportunities on We Are Next Jobs, and find other resources on the We Are Next Index.

--

--