Free art piece idea #47

Halim Madi
Wrong for years
Published in
1 min readSep 9, 2017
Artist standing in front of the fast food restaurant holding a contract for consumers to acknowledge their willingness to kill themselves slowly

This one is called “I hereby agree to my slow death”. This piece is performed and executed for the benefit of large corporations serving sub-par nutrient poor foods to consumers. The artist is to work with a lawyer to write up a contract stating that the party signing it fully understands the risks of eating at said [Insert Fast Food restaurant name].

By entering and eating at this restaurant repeatedly, I am willingly going against hundreds of thousands of years of evolutionary logic. I am putting my body through a painful process it simply cannot adapt to. But no one is forcing my hand. No one is leading my footsteps. I have no gun to my head. This is me walking in. This is me paying up. This is me choosing again and again.

The artist is to stand at the entrance of the fast food restaurant and dress in a costume that would either remind consumers of a lawyer (suit, suitcase etc.) or one of the fast food employees (lively fitting brand-coherent colors etc.).

--

--