Free art piece idea #49

Halim Madi
Wrong for years
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2017
“Elastic concrete” — in this case, a dangling end of the concrete sculpture makes it feel as if the concrete had stretched due to its elasticity.

This piece is called “Elastic concrete”.

In “l’homme à l’affût” by Julio Cortazar, Johnny, a reportedly living legend sax player that had played with Miles Davis, explains how time becomes elastic when he plays the Sax. And how time goes back to being a shrinking solid container when he isn’t playing music. He uses a piece of luggage to explain.

“See this piece of luggage” he says, “I can put two costumes and two pairs of shoes. But imagine I take them out and then right when I’m about to put them back in, I realize I can only fit one costume and one pair of shoes. The most surprising thing however is that I realize you can fit an entire boutique in there when I’m playing music” [I’m butchering the otherwise amazing text but that’s almost it].

“Elastic concrete” aims to create what Jeff Koons has accomplished with his balloon sculptures (the illusion of lightness cast in iron) using concrete:

  • One approach here is for the artist to make a block like rock sculpture out of elastic material. The elastic material would be painted in a way to look concrete-like.
  • Another opposite approach is to make concrete look elastic. The artist would create a concrete sculpture that conveys the feeling of elasticity.

--

--