Letters From an Antique Desk That Cost Me 1400 Quid: Letters 2, 3, 4 & 5

The Obsolete Pencil
Wrong Ingredients
4 min readJun 24, 2024

--

Photo by Alessio Fiorentino on Unsplash

Author’s note: It was fairly rainy this week, so I decided to take a little wood polish and give my desk a small glow up (as my ‘gen z’ granddaughter Lila might say). I’m no woodworker, however I’m fairly certain the wood is of the pure oak variety. I’d bargain there’s a walnut veneer on there as well. Also, if it is of use to any readers, my favorite wood polish “life hack” (did I use that correctly, Lila?) is simply to take a bit of melted beeswax and mineral oil and mix it together with a bit of lemon. I took some “before and after” photos but haven’t sorted how to publish them here (that will be my next lesson from gen z perhaps), so you’ll have to take me at my word. All to say this work reminded me to transcribe another of the letters. In fact, because of their relation to one another and nearness in dates, I decided to publish another four. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

If you’d like to catch up on the first letter, you may find it here:

3 March 1872

Dear Benjamin,

As your sister and friend, I do not wish to injure your heart with the news of Jane Landish’s imminent engagement to Lord Garreth, but as your truest confidant, I must inform you of this news now, as you will henceforth soon be summoned to the Landish Estate, and I do wish to spare you the revelation of such news upon your arrival.

I know how you have long loved Miss Landish, but now my dear brother, I have grander pheasant to serve. The Landish gardener (do you remember old Falk?) has come upon the box. You know of which I speak. It appears that Cranston— he was the butler who always snuck us chocolates — has activated some part of it. I fear it will only be a matter of days before he shows signs. I know your oath as a Doctor may challenge the greater oath that we share, but you must uphold that which will cause the least damage. I trust you dear brother. As those who are not among us may say: godspeed.

Your sister,

Mary

3 March 1872

Dearest Jane,

Such happy news! I eagerly await every detail of your betrothal. I remember the grounds of the Landish Estate so fondly and well, it was a happy moment to think on the azaleas in full bloom.

Oh to be children once more, picking clover and gazing upon the clouds in our summer dresses! Your family was ever generous to let us all play as equals. The Landish Estate quite literally changed the course of my life, and not just because I had the privilege of marrying your charming cousin Victor. I still blush at his name, though we have already lived together two months! Can you believe the wedding was two months ago? I’m elated to learn there will be another just around the corner. Now that you are back from the coast, I must meet you soon for you are right, we are overdue for a turn together in the garden.

With love,

your friend Mary

4 March 1872

Dear Sir Benjamin,

I must ask that you come with great haste to our estate. I acknowledge our patient is an unusual request, as we ask for you on behalf of our butler, Cranston, who is quite dear to us.

He started similar to a hay fever, however now exhibits symptoms unlike any I’ve encountered in my 45 years. We will be grateful for your speedy arrival and impeccable skill.

Sincerely,

George Landish, Duke of Grimsby

P.S. By the by, my wife implores me to add that Gregory and Laura are off to the coast to visit their Aunt, but Jane is back as of a fortnight ago and those of us here will be delighted to welcome you.

5 March 1972

My Lord Duke,

By the time you receive this I will be on my way. I am indebted to you for my training scholarship and remember Cranston quite well from my youth. I am sorry to hear of his illness.

I leave now and shall make haste!

Respectfully,

B. Fenrick, Physician

A list I created to house all of the letters in one place:

Letters From an Antique Desk That Cost Me 1400 Quid

2 stories

--

--

The Obsolete Pencil
Wrong Ingredients

Once mightier than the swordfish. An allotrope of carbon.