The Best Boutique in London

(according to my wife)

The Obsolete Pencil
Wrong Ingredients
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2024

--

Photo by Katya Korovkina on Unsplash

Words may come in and out of style, but the words we sell are timeless.

-Boutique Etymology

There is a boutique in London just northwest of the High Street Kensington tube station where my wife likes to shop for words.

Whenever I suggest they cost too much, she looks up at me with her doe brown eyes and says,

“But they’re such pretty words…”

It’s a brilliant business. They only sell complete outfits, and strongly recommend accessories for each ensemble, like commas and m-dashes. I’m no fashionista (or fan of the upsell), but I agree that the accessories can truly make or break the look.

I bought my wife many words at that boutique over the years. She resented that I eventually needed to steal the money to afford them and spent many years in prison for it. But I did it for her.

I’m out now, and I still take her to the boutique, when I can come by our purchases honestly of course.

Unfortunately, I’ve come to find no matter how many words I buy now, I’ll never truly finish my sentence.

--

--

The Obsolete Pencil
Wrong Ingredients

Once mightier than the swordfish. An allotrope of carbon.