What If I told You That You Could Have Editorial Superpowers?

Merav Savir
WSC Sports
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2019

I used to edit sports highlights, now I’m part of a marketing team giving content teams an AI upgrade I once dreamed of

I’ve spent my fair share of shifts in a dark editing room, clipping segments of Giancarlo Stanton or Andre Drummond; highlights of this game or that, home runs, buzzer beaters and slap shots.

I started my career in the TV business as an associate producer, which many-a-times meant being responsible for the edited footage for pre- and post-game shows, recaps, late night shows and everything in between. Some days it meant taking my seat in front of the computer at 8 am, other times it meant leaving my spot at 2 am. But let’s face it, in those edit rooms, you never knew whether the sun was up or the stars were shining bright.

I was part of teams that were producing great sports television. And I loved every second of it.

That was back in 2012. I’ve since produced, edited, written, reported and anchored. As my career was evolving so was the industry. I started adding verbs like Tweeted, Facebooked and Instagramed to my description of daily duties in the TV business, and I don’t have to tell you how each platform is different.

Editor Merav of 2012 wouldn’t be able to keep up with the amount of posts and videos that Fan Merav of 2019 wants to view, and wants to view now. How many Meravs would you need to fill an evening’s worth of social content? My guess would be more than it would take to fill an MLB roster.

The sheer amount of content that is posted to social media accounts every day is unbelievable, and it needs to cater to an ever-growing, diverse group of people. To put it in perspective, back in 2012, there were 1.4 billion people using social media worldwide. Today that number has doubled to nearly 2.8 billion users and is expected to continue growing as people spend more time on social media as their go to destination for content.Meaning, not only do sports content teams need to cater to an audience that wants more highlights and more stories, they also need to account for a wider audience that enjoys different types of content on different types of platforms.

The good news is, you don’t need that MLB roster of video editors to fill all these social needs.

I found this out about a year and a half ago while researching interesting startups to focus on for a series of profiles. While browsing through a list of companies, I stumbled upon WSC Sports and automatically wondered where this was six years earlier — and knew I had to be a part of it. My first time using the technology I was blown away. This is something life-changing for content teams.

Having been an editor in a pre-social media world (or beginning of), my focus was on TV broadcasts, and let’s face it, the number of videos I produced for television programming on a daily basis didn’t even come close to what teams need today for social media. But having been part of the industry for so long, I am well aware of what content teams go through nowadays to get quality video content and to get it out there quickly. I also fully understand the potential value of having video content generated automatically, according to what I want, when I want it and where I want it posted.

Amazingly — that’s possible, and at a few clicks of a button.

You can get that video of the best Steph Curry three-pointers of the month for your recap without having to go back and watch hours of game footage. Not only does it save you precious time, but it also gives you the opportunity to dedicate that time to other things; to enhance your written content, or focus on the analytical breakdown of certain plays. You’re able to complete all the work you did before, and then some, and still get home in time to see your kids, or meet your friends for dinner. Can you imagine that?

Every content team deserves to experience the “wow” moment I experienced the first time I sat in the chair and tested WSC Sports’ technology. It’s truly (auto)magical.

--

--

Merav Savir
WSC Sports

A Tel Aviv based journalist & content professional with experience in the sports & news business and an undying love for Cuse basketball.