#31: Feel Good

Opemipo
wuruwuru
Published in
1 min readSep 6, 2021

I’m pairing with Daniel Orubo to publish a book. This is Experiment 5.

№ 1 was Hanky Panky the film, still ongoing.

№ 2 was Cover Bank, a visual database now with 5k images.

№ 3 was J Guide. We made two stories and started on a third.

№ 4 was Cover Stories, which I’ve now dropped. It’s a little more complicated because it involves logistics and other people. I couldn’t make the time to properly get it done and couldn’t find someone to delegate to either.

№ 5, Feel Good, is a physical book, an anthology of stories about happy queer people. The emerging Wuruwuru themes (indie creation, graphic design, animation, comics, storytelling) are very present.

Daniel will co-ordinate writers, one for each story. I’ll coordinate illustrators to visualise the stories. I’ve asked Dá Design to design the book with me. I plan to speak with a handful of magazine makers (Irin, Republic e.t.c.) to learn about production.

Daniel and I will publish and distribute the book together. We’re looking to crowdfund this one on Kickstarter and document our experience.

As usual, I have no idea what I’m doing. But we’ll find out soon enough.

--

--