The WW / WeightWatchers Internship Experience: Part II

Jinny Lee
WW Tech Blog
Published in
3 min readSep 9, 2022

👋 Welcome back and thanks for tuning into part II of our intern experience mini-series ft. our Engineering and Product interns!

Last week, we highlighted our awesome Summer Internship Program and kicked off our mini-series with Vineet, our Mobile Engineering intern (thanks, Vineet!) Up next, we’ll hear from Leonel, our Product Design Intern, and Reed, our Mobile Engineering Intern!

Leonel, take it away!

“My internship at WeightWatchers this past summer was truly amazing. As a Product Design Intern, I was challenged with several meaningful projects throughout the 11-week program that helped to hone my skills as a designer.

This summer, I had the opportunity to be a part of the Growth Product Design team where I conducted rapid experiments, and assisted with auditing and reconstructing the design system for our WW guest site. I also had the amazing opportunity to be part of our home page redesign.

Everyone I’ve met throughout the 11-week program was incredibly welcoming. From the moment I began my internship, my team made me feel as if we were part of a family. The people at WeightWatchers are very respectful and open-minded. I was encouraged to share my ideas and opinions and always felt comfortable voicing my thoughts and feedback.

WeightWatchers does an amazing job with their internship program. In addition to the impactful projects we were assigned, we also participated in networking opportunities with one another through Zoom Pods, engaged in team-bonding activities, and worked together on fun side projects. Because of this amazing program, I am leaving with new product design skills, amazing friends, and career references.

-Leonel Duran Jimenez, Product Design Intern

Thanks so much for sharing, Leonel! We’re now passing the mic to Reed, our Mobile Engineering intern! 🎤

“As an iOS Mobile Engineering Intern at WW / WeightWatchers, I was able to work on projects with other engineers and my own project that I presented at the conclusion of our internship program. A highlight of mine while working at WW was being able to engineer a feature using on-device machine learning. The process included researching new technology, creating a prototype, presenting my findings, implementing it in the app, and testing. It was both an exciting and engaging experience.

The people at WeightWatchers are incredible and the connections I made here are invaluable. Throughout my internship, I was able to lean on other engineers at the organization as resources and they were always happy to help. Managers and leaders of WW are very tactful and truly wish to see their coworkers succeed. The feedback I received on my code reviews helped me to become a better engineer and write cleaner code. Although I was remote throughout the internship, the daily meetings with my team helped me to feel and stay connected. The agile process at WW is empowered by the great scrum masters who effectively keep things organized and moving. The people at WW made my internship experience exceptional.”

-Reed Hunsaker, Mobile Engineering Intern

Thank you Leonel & Reed for sharing your incredible intern experience with us! Stay tuned for part III, next week!

Interested in joining the WW team? Check out our careers page to view technology job listings as well as open positions on other teams.

--

--