Filmmaker’s profile: Thelma Schoonmaker

WxIF staff
WxIF zine
Published in
Feb 27, 2021

Thelma Schoonmaker is an American film editor. She is best known for editing most of Martin Scorsese’s films.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
She has won three Oscars (Raging Bull, The Aviator and The Departed) and among other awards has been presented with a BAFTA Fellowship.
⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
Thelma met Martin by accident. Someone had badly cut a negative of his first feature film and Thelma was the only one available to help him. This led to one of the most enduring collaborations in film.

‘If I hadn’t met Scorsese, I would never have become a filmmaker. He has taught me everything I know about editing and has given me the best job in the world’

--

--

WxIF staff
WxIF zine

WxIF zine is a printed and digital journal celebrating womxn in film & tv and female-centric projects from a filmmaker’s perspective. www.celineribard.com/wxif