Holy Spy

Isabella Bonnett
Wye Review
Published in
2 min readJul 5, 2022

by Rory Clements

My picture of the cover of the book ‘Holy Spy’ by Rory Clements.
My picture of the cover of Holy Spy

I hadn’t heard of Rory Clements before I read this book; my knowledge of historical fiction authors is primarily female. But when I found this book in a community library, I had to buy it. I wanted to branch out, and I’m glad I did. The blurb immediately grabbed me, as it is set in Tudor times going into the Elizabethan era, and I ended up reading it in two days!

The book depicts the character of John Shakespeare and his involvement in the plot to kill Mary Queen of Scots, while at the same time infiltrating the group who are plotting to kill Queen Elizabeth I. This is not about the real John Shakespeare, father of William Shakespeare, but rather the fictional John, brother of William, although William isn’t referenced at all. The book did get a bit complicated in places because of all the conspiracy and so you do need to read carefully to keep track of where everyone is; there are various different characters who are all doing some sort of spy work. Once you get the hang of who everyone is and what they’re doing then you can really get into it.

What I like is that the main character of the novel isn’t Mary Queen of Scots or Queen Elizabeth I. By using a potentially rather minor character, readers get to see the working underbelly of the various operations and plans of the government. This book was very gripping and once I got into it and worked out what was going on I really couldn’t put it down! I’m talking eating with one hand whilst my other hand is occupied by the book. Most characters were really likeable, although some definitely got their comeuppance in the end.

This book is filled with intrigue, suspense, deception, and with a little bit of romance, it makes for a very good read when you want an exciting adventure through Elizabethan London.

As always, the Wye Review recommends you purchase this book from your local independent bookshop.

Online you can use Hive or Bookshop.org, and if you’re lucky enough to have a local bookshop they’ll always gladly order a copy in for you. You can even borrow a copy from a library, again, if you’re lucky enough to have one near you.

You can read more from Isabella Bonnett here; she has written other reviews as well as other articles on various topics.

--

--