Photo by Mark Harpur on Unsplash

Summery

Do you ever catch yourself daydreaming?

Peter Wynn
Wynn Compendium
Published in
4 min readJul 31, 2020

--

It’s strange isn’t it? How simple it is to lose yourself. How your mind wanders at random moments in time. When you’re out grocery shopping, reading a book, or just sitting at home. I’ve caught myself mid-conversation, completely distracted, nodding and agreeing with what the person is saying, but not hearing a single word. I don’t know why, but my mind always goes back — back to that afternoon in my old treehouse.

Maybe I yearn for it. Subconsciously desiring a time without worry, without stress, with the freedom to play, sleep, and eat whenever I want. I remember when I was younger, how badly I wanted to be independent. Looking back now, why was I in such a rush to grow up? I didn’t appreciate my youth, most people don’t. If you think about it, we only spend a quarter of our life as a child, probably even less.

I miss that tree house. The one my father built for me when I was a little girl. Mom, would hand me lemonade to bring out to him while he worked under the heat, brimming with sweat and dirt. It was small, quaint, and painted my favorite color, yellow. The children on our block would come over and play. We’d climb up the ladder, run around the deck, and stick our heads out the cut shaped windows, it was fun. I remember James the most, he was such a goofy bushy haired boy, always giggling, and showing off his two front teeth.

That summer we talked about our dreams, what we wanted to be when we grew up, and where we wanted to go. I told him I wanted to be a Doctor. He said he planned on becoming a Paleontologist or a Botanist. What kind of kid thinks of that? It was cute. Honestly, I thought it was very sweet. I remember the warmth of the sun beaming onto my skin through the cracks of the tree house. I could’ve laid in there for weeks, it was my little piece of paradise. It was where James situated himself close to me. Showing me his books on plants and animals, we’d read them together, and talk about which ones were our favorite. That was where he summed up the courage to kiss me – ever so gently on the cheek.

Not long after, my father was offered a new job in another city. Hundreds of miles away, it was sad to say the least. We said our goodbyes. I remember how he hugged me so close, so tight, tears running down our eyes. I think about that day often. It’s quite unusual really, it’s been years since I’ve seen or heard from him. We’re different people now, we’re adults for goodness’ sake. Perhaps, I’m fantasizing a bit too much about my youth. We were just children after all.

Sometimes, I wonder though. Does he think about those afternoons in the treehouse like I do?

I first fell in love when I was just a child. It was wonderful, innocent, heartbreaking. I remember her like it was yesterday, Vanessa. My soul aches for her. Some might say children can’t fathom the concept of love, but what about their relationship to their parents? Does a child not love their mother or father? Does a child not care for their uncles and cousins? Sure, they can’t fully comprehend the idea at such a young age, but they understand what love is.

The first time I saw her she was riding a pink bike down the street. The handles had blue and green streamers blowing in the wind, and a teddy bear in the front basket. At the time, her father had just built a new treehouse, so I would ask the kids around the neighborhood if they wanted to go over there and play. I didn’t want to go alone, I was shy. It’s funny to think about the lengths I would go to to see her. If you think about it, it’s certainly odd, bringing books when there’s a treehouse to play in. I wanted to stand out. I didn’t want to blend in with the other boys. I wanted to impress her.

She was intoxicating to say the least. The way she laughed so easily and often, I couldn’t get enough. I knew sitting down together was the only way for me to get close. I craved to know the real her. Her faults, her insecurities, her dreams, I desired them all. It was in that moment, when all the other children were running around and playing, that time stood completely still. In that brief second, for what seemed like an eternity, I decided to take a leap of faith. I peered into a clear amber sea and kissed her.

It was thrilling. My heart was pounding out of my chest. It was relieving to see that she didn’t push away my advance. I knew then that this was something special, that she was something special, but our young love was short-lived.

She was leaving. Miles away to a place where I would never see her again. When we said our goodbyes, I didn’t want to let her go. I still remember her touch, her scent, her warmth.

I often notice myself lost in thought. Wondering, if she thinks about me and those afternoons full of smiles and laughter? I know I’ll find her, one day.

Thanks for the support!

Instagram | Twitter | Quora

--

--

Peter Wynn
Wynn Compendium

Born and raised in California, medical technical writer, and author of Penny the Red Panda