Meet Professional Photographer, Jahret Rainey

Xaviea Brown
Xaviea J. Brown
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2016
Rainey, taken by Xaviea J.

How did you start photography?

I started photography as really like a hobby at first. I was graphic designer and I needed a camera with a high megapixel count so I could crop photos out easier. I didn’t start really taking photography serious until 2012 after my mom passed. I needed an outlet and something to do to keep my mind off of the situation.

What work do you specialize in?

I specialize in portrait photography. I love taking photos of people and seeing their raw emotions and showing them how I view them through my lens.

How would you describe your style?

My style would be almost like a journalistic style. When I shoot for the most part I’m quiet. I like seeing how they act and what “they think” they are supposed to be doing. I’m snapping until I realize what look they’re going for or until I see that they’re comfortable then I start directing and going towards the shot I need.

How has social media played a role in your photography?

Without social media I wouldn’t even exist. ALL of my bookings come from Instagram and Facebook. It shows my work and people can stay up to date on what I’m doing. When they see I’m in their city or I’m working on a specific project that they can contribute to they book me and we make it happen.

What has been your biggest accomplishment thus far?

My biggest accomplishment so far is just starting my magazine publication MOT Magazine. At this point it’s bigger than me and it’s running itself. I’m able to book more high profile clients because of the work my partner and I put into the publication. It’s built credibility and has allowed me to up my rates and give people the opportunity to get printed in an actual magazine.

What advice do you have for somebody who wants to pursue photography?

My advice I would give to anyone who wants to pursue a photography career would be to just do it and don’t get discouraged by the other 50million other people doing the exact same thing. For awhile I wasn’t confident in my work and was afraid to put myself in the same category as those I looked up to, but I realized if I didn’t believe in myself then nobody else would. Perception is reality. Once I started to believe my work was above average so did everyone else around me.

How can we keep up with you?

Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Portfolio

--

--