Before anything, we are humans.

Karla Borda
XD Studio Monterrey
6 min readAug 25, 2022

As UX Designers, we are used to focusing on the wellness of our users. We ask them how are they feeling, what are they thinking, and what are their needs, fears, and desires. All of this to create enjoyable experiences for them. But, do we dedicate the same time, thoughts, and expertise to ourselves?…

Illustrations by Karla Borda

Let’s picture this agenda together:

Wake up, do exercise, eat well, work, give a 110%, spend time with your family, spend time with your friends, go eat somewhere, go grab a drink, give results at work, do some online shopping, pay your debts, plan that trip, save some money, go to yoga classes, or swim classes…sleep and repeat.

Sounds familiar? Yeah, it kinda sounds familiar to me, but the curious thing is, in what part of the daily agenda is there time to feel? Where is the time to pause? The time to ask yourself:

“Hey, _____ how are you feeling today?”

So, let’s pause for a moment, breathe in, breathe out, let’s check in.

How are you today? Are you feeling good? Are you feeling anxious about something? Are you feeling worried? Angry? With no energy? With lots of energy? Are you feeling overwhelmed?…

One big characteristic of human beings is that we have the ability to feel and introspect, and that’s why it is so important to talk about mental health. Years ago, if you walked into a room and started talking about it, you would be seen as a weirdo, I’m glad that today the acceptance of this topic has been adopted not only on a personal level but also in the work environment.

That’s why today my goal is to give you an overview of it, tips, and personal experiences related to the subject, so you can start or continue your journey by incorporating mental health consciousness into your daily life.

Pause… What is Mental Health

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, mental health includes our emotional, psychological, and social well-being. It affects how we think, feel, and act. It also helps determine how we handle stress, relate to others, and make healthy choices.

“Mental health is about wellness rather than illness’’

As a personal thought, I will resume mental health as being conscious and responsible about our feelings and what we do with those feelings. It is also a way of being aware of our true selves, a way to connect and develop a closer relationship with our inner voice.

Where do I begin?

Creating awareness of our mental health can be a little hard in the beginning because school didn’t teach us so much about it. What am I saying, in life, we don’t talk about mental health, and even today this topic is still kind of “taboo” in some regions and parts of the world.

By saying so, I will show you 3 ways to start doing it, feel free to choose whenever you feel well with.

Illustrations by Karla Borda

Introspect

As shown in the dictionary introspection is the act of examining one’s thoughts or feelings. This will help a lot when trying to understand how you are feeling or reacting to an event in your life. You can do it by carrying a diary with you, or just writing your thoughts in a book, you can also make pauses in your day to realize things, actions, triggers, and behaviors.

By introspecting you will give sense to a lot of your impulses and you will get to know yourself more and have the ability to take accurate decisions.

Give a chance to therapy

I know it sounds scary, also that may require a little bit more extra effort, but I can ensure you that is totally worth it. Of course, if at this moment of your life you don’t feel comfortable with that is fine, but if you have a slight intention to do it, here are some recommendations:

  • Ask your friends about their therapists, how they feel about them, and of course, ask for a recommendation.
  • There are platforms on the internet where you can find a psychologist regarding your desires and needs.
  • If you don’t feel comfortable with the therapist you choose for the first time, you can change and stay until you find the one that suits 100% of your expectations.
  • Give yourself the chance to try, as everything in life you can always set back, one you have tried.

Talk about it

By talking about it you will discover that more people are feeling similar as you. Or maybe you will discover how people confront their situations and problems, and you will learn new tools and ways to approach present and future situations in your life.

Also, talking about Mental Health will help you to unlearn the taboo around it and you will be promoting the open talk that it must have.

But wait… I am a designer, why do I need to know about Mental Health?

Yes, why would I? I know how to use Figma and Mural, and I know how to conduct research and usability studies. I am doing great, I think I am all set.

Having a true connection with yourself and good mental health will make you feel and perform smoothly in the many roles you play in your life. I am a designer, and as a designer I know that I can be in situations during my work schedule that may confront my mental health as design presentations, design Feedback, client meetings, feedback meetings, client interviews, peer reviews, etc. But also, as a daughter, friend, teacher, and student, I am constantly confronting situations in every role I play in my life.

And I don’t know which profession or which roles you perform each day but, I ensure you that when you are at peace with yourself everything around you also is in peace. But when you are not in your best mood everything starts to get messy. That’s why no matter what your profession is, no matter which role are you playing at this time, mental health is a big pillar in your life, and you should take care of it.

Illustrations by Karla Borda

Personal sharings

Years ago, when I started to prioritize my mental health, I realized that I was doing it for and by myself, no one was forcing me, no one ask me to do it, it was just me wanting and desiring to feel better with myself, it was me wanting to be a better human.

It was hard in the beginning, there were too many times when I told myself “maybe is easier to just quit”, but I always had my family and close friends supporting me. And let me tell you that if you don’t feel so close to your family or friends, I also discover that I will always be my very best company, ally, and best friend. So, I invite you to take the courage and give it a try.

Last but not least, be aware that these days more and more educational institutions, companies, and communities are giving the priority mental health deserves to their people, so ask what actions has being taken in your school, workplace, etc. Because for sure, they have already adopted measures such as phone lines, face-to-face or online therapy services, community activities, among others.

I hope this article helps you to start or continue taking care of yourself, and your mental health, and just as a reminder, don’t forget to leave time on your agenda to ask yourself “Hey, how are you feeling today”.

Illustrations by Karla Borda

--

--

Karla Borda
XD Studio Monterrey

Designer & Dancer, passionate about life and people, willing to make life better through design, technology and art