This Adulting Life: I Regret Moving Out of My Parents’ House Early

Bio Francis
Xend Finance
Published in
4 min readAug 25, 2023

In the first issue of the series This Adulting Life, we had an interesting conversation with a 25-year-old guy who shared his regrets about moving out of his parent’s house early and the financial struggles that come with it.

Before we begin, please give us a brief glimpse into your background.

I grew up in a small town and had a fairly typical childhood. My parents were loving and supportive, and we had a close-knit family. Although my family was always supportive and I enjoyed their company, as I grew older, I developed a strong sense of independence and decided to move out at a relatively young age.

How has adult life been for you so far?

Well, it’s been a mix of ups and downs. It’s funny how sometimes it’s so enjoyable and I feel like I’m on top of the world, feeling super grateful that I became an adult and that I can do whatever I want when I want to. Other times, I just wish I was a kid again and living a stress-free life under the guidance of my parents. Oh well, I guess that’s just what being an adult is, right?

I guess you’re right. Moving out early is a significant life decision. What motivated you to take that step and leave the comfort of your parents’ home?

Well, I had always been ambitious and eager to explore the world on my terms. I felt a burning desire to prove myself, to show that I could make it on my own, so I craved freedom and the chance to create my own path away from the familiar and predictable. Immediately I got the opportunity to go to college, I moved out, and after graduation I just decided to get an apartment away from my family and, yeah, just start life on my own.

Wow, that’s a bold move. So looking back, what are the regrets you have about that decision?

Well, to be honest, it wasn’t as great as I thought it would be. When I moved out, I didn’t fully grasp the weight of my decision to leave behind the comfort and security that living with my parents provided. I miss that. Life outside the nest isn’t as easy as I thought it would be.

I underestimated how tough adulthood could be — financial struggles, feeling lonely at times, missing the simple joys of being with family, and the emotional toll it would take. Looking back, I realize that I traded a part of my emotional well-being for independence.

Oh, that’s sad. Moving on, let’s touch on a very vital aspect of your experience. How have your finances been while managing the challenges of independence?

Ah, finances. That’s been a real struggle for me. It came as a shock to me how suddenly I had to pay rent, utility bills, and all these other expenses I hadn’t anticipated. Sometimes I wonder if I had stayed a bit longer, would I have had more time to prepare financially, develop additional life skills, or just enjoy the comforts of home a little longer? It’s a natural curiosity about the road not taken, but I also acknowledge the growth and experiences I’ve gained from being independent.

Did you have any financial goals for yourself before moving out, and how’s that working out?

Yes, I had financial goals, but unfortunately, I haven’t been able to keep up with any of them. It’s because anytime I try to save, an emergency pops up from nowhere that I have to take care of. For instance, the wiring in my house just exploded, and I have to pay an electrician for repairs, and I didn’t plan for that. But if I were still at my parents house, this wouldn’t be my problem.

With what you know now, If you were to choose between living with your parents and living alone, which would you choose?

Well, that’s a dicey situation because I enjoy staying by myself. After all, I enjoy my privacy, I can do what I want whenever I want, and I’m not in my comfort zone, so it pushes me to work hard and take care of my financial obligations because if I don’t, then I don’t get any money to cover my bills.

But staying with my parents, on the other hand, gives me that freedom away from bills; I don’t bother about taking care of myself, cooking meals, or other home expenses because my parents take care of those responsibilities, and it allows me to focus on other aspects of my life.

If you were to advise a young person contemplating moving out or staying with his parents, what would it be?

Honestly, please just stay with your parents until you’re sure you’re fully ready and set to take care of your living expenses and start this adult life. Moving out early may seem enticing, but it’s crucial to understand the emotional impact it can have. Don’t rush into it; take the time to evaluate your readiness and consider the potential consequences.

--

--

Bio Francis
Xend Finance

Digital Marketer| Freelancer| Social Media Manager| Crypto Enthusiast| I love to write about Blockchain, Web 3, Cryptocurrency and Online Business growth.