Life at Xord — Tapping into Iqra’s Journey

Kanza
Xord

--

Resilient, smart, responsible, and empathetic Iqra Fatima, the Head of Talent Management at Xord is with us in the blog series of Life at Xord. Iqra started her career as a Management Trainee and has been with us for a year and four months. Let’s see what she has to say about her journey at Xord from Management Trainee to the Head of Talent Management.

Who is Iqra for Xord?

Apart from being a KFC freak, I think I am the most available person or you can say the go-to person for everyone. Anyone can come to me for any kind of issues they’re facing or with their queries and concerns. Xordians can tell you about this more accurately.

What brings you the greatest satisfaction in your work?

I think the key to the greatest satisfaction at work is to keep doing new and creative things. If you keep doing something new and creative you will feel satisfied.

What’s the most interesting thing you find at Xord?

One of the interesting things is our ‘Buddy Program’ which is a part of our onboarding process. In our buddy program, we assign buddies to all the new hires who guide them throughout the week about the Xord’s culture, teams, and responsibilities. And they make them comfortable to go around in the new environment.

Xord’s culture is based on its core values. So, how do you think a growth mindset makes the difference?

Xord and its leaders support entrepreneurship and focus on building entrepreneurs. There are currently four ventures at Xord and others are in the pipeline. Xord has developed and maintained a culture that empowers people to realize that they have the power to bring ideas to the table and experiment with them. And that’s how people are encouraged to have a growth mindset. Fostering the growth mindset helps build the culture of entrepreneurship.

What small gesture from a Xordian made a big impact on you?

Gestures from Xord’s leadership team have always impacted me and all the Xordians in so many ways. They prioritize our personal & professional growth. This has shown me that how important it is to take everyone with you on the journey. They are quite empathetic and understanding. I try my best to play that role for my subordinates.

For instance, When my role changed, Fahad (COO) used to discuss and explain everything to me in detail during our one-on-one meetings. Despite having a packed schedule, he invested his time to help me learn and grow in this new role. He empowered me by making me realize my skills and qualities which boosted my self-confidence. This is the impactful work done by Fahad that has brought out the best in me by making me believe in myself.

What are the things at Xord that you would not want to miss out on?

It can be any informative or brainstorming session in which the company-wide goals and objectives would be discussed. Because in that case, I would not be able to contribute to the decision-making process.
Other than that, I would regret if I miss any official dinner or any other fun activity.

What makes your team unique at Xord?

My team is a ‘girls gang’. Jokes apart, we are very connected with each other. And there is one thing similar in all of us that we know how to take honest feedbacks positively and how to work on it. We usually discuss and work on how to improve as a team and I like that about us.

What do you suggest to people who want to join Xord?

Being the Head of Talent Management, I would like to advise people who come here for the interviews or any other purpose should read about Xord. If you are passionate about working at Xord and feel like it is a company you want to learn and grow in, then you should show this by your efforts. I think this is very important when you are coming for the interview, you should know about the company and the role you are applying for.

Other than being a foodie and a great singer, Iqra is very hardworking who takes extreme ownership of her responsibilities that makes her one of our high-performance Xordians.
Xord is proud to have Xordians like Iqra.

--

--