If a tree falls and I can’t send a link to it.

tyesha snow
XOXO 2015
Published in
3 min readSep 3, 2015

What have I done?

I am confronted with this question a lot. I ask it of myself and others ask me. It’s inevitable, I put myself in places where this is the primary method of understanding each other. These places are where people I respect go. Places where I find inspiration and camaraderie.

I like to be around are people who do things. Creative things. Put themselves and their ideas out there. I not only feel at home with these people I consider myself one of them, but when the question “What have I done?” surfaces, so does doubt.

As you’ve probably heard from others, the XOXO community has already assembled. We’re on Slack. All day, every day I can pop over and immerse myself in these doer, makers, creators and talk about things that matter to us. As Andy B put it, “the community self-organized” and it’s pretty cool. I started two channels #podcasts and #penpals (hi!) and man #ladies is amazing. It’s like Twitter was 7 years ago. (As an aside, thanks for doing this Andys I can imagine it’s been a lot of work to participate at the level you both have before the festival even starts and while you are still planning the damn thing.)

Back to the doubt. I got me thinking about what it means to be a creative person and how your ability to outwardly express your creativity in a contained thing, feels like the membership card to the club. Seems legit. You make something, put it out there and invite people to come an acknowledge it. You are then a creator. Your creative personness is validated. But what if you’re a creator on different level? I’ve made stuff but what I’m truly proud of and what makes me a part of this community can’t be posted to Twitter or shown in a gallery.

Here’s what I do
:: Question everything.
:: Have conversations. Big gigantic conversations that add layers to the topic, blow out assumptions and make people say hummm ;)
:: Take assignments and deliver organized, human driven, respectful work that people appreciate.
:: Make the above process enjoyable, bringing out the creator in the people I work with.
:: Make connections and share the findings.
:: Focus on your idea and inspire you to take it further and deeper than you thought.
:: Consume what you create and share it with folks who need to know.
:: Compose hundreds of songs I never write down but use as a sound track for my family’s life.
:: Look people in the eyes, particularly to express “I get ya”.
:: Talk to strangers about everything but the weather.
:: Try every type of artistic expression I can and find ways to incorporate little parts of it into my life.
:: Have a relationship with nature.
:: Have a relationship with technology
:: Write. Even if I rarely share.

Essentially I live a creative life and I work to make other’s lives more creative. This isn’t a small thing. To prioritize experiences, ideas and creative expression is a choice (and a privilege) you and I should be proud of that choice whether it results in a project with a beginning and end doesn’t always matter. My role in necessary. It’s supportive. It’s holds up a leg of the table. It brings color to painting. Boogie to the party. Rock’n to the the waves. Ok. I’ll stop.

I still plan to make a name for myself in more tangible ways but it’s good to take a moment and realize even with all the half finished projects and failed attempts at greatness, I have cultivated something. I bet a few of you know what I’m talking about. Let me take a second to acknowledge you. You are killing it.

I do have one wish. To find my creator soulmate. Maybe I’ll find them at XOXO.

--

--

tyesha snow
XOXO 2015

Experience Design Consultant, Community Podcast Studio Creator and Proud PDXer. www.tyeshasnow.com & www.whatpodcastsshouldilistento.com